More than 160 new Colorado laws went into effect on Tuesday, including one that automatically adds discounted state park passes to most new or updated vehicle registrations.
The annual state park pass usually costs $80, but starting in 2023, SB21-249 adds a vehicle registration fee for the “Keep Colorado Wild Pass”-the amount has not been determined, but it will not exceed $40.
Residents who register for passenger cars, light trucks, motorcycles, and recreational vehicles can choose not to charge fees, while Colorados who cannot afford the fees can choose to lower the rate.
Through another new law, HB21-1116, Purple Heart Medal holders with special license plates can enter state parks for free.
Officials from the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Service said they hope to increase the cost of the annual pass to $20 per vehicle per year, but this will depend on the number of people who buy the pass during the registration process. The money will be used for state parks and public lands, for maintenance and safety work, and search and rescue programs.
Overall, legislators passed more than 500 bills in the 2021 legislative session; the governor vetoed four and allowed two to become laws without his signature. Other bills that went into effect on Tuesday (90 days after the legislative session) include:
- SB21-078: Residents must report lost or stolen guns.
- HB21-1060: Colorados can compost their bodies as an option after death.
- SB21-175: The state will create a new prescription drug affordability committee.
- HB21-1048: Several types of retailers must accept cash.
For a complete list of legislation passed this year, please visit: https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/digest2021.pdf.