Saturday, February 4, 2023

Alexandra Manley wins second stage and takes lead in 2023 Women’s Tour Down Under

Australian cyclist Alexandra Manley, a member of Team JACO-AIUIA, has become the leader of the 2023 Women’s Tour Down Under, winning the second stage of the 90km Tour starting in Birdwood and the finishing line in Uradla. With the win, Manley added an 8-second advantage in the general classification over her nearest rival, New Zealander Georgia Williams.

Alexandra Manley Wins Second Stage And Takes Lead In 2023 Women'S Tour Down Under
Alexandra Manley, winner of stage two. Photo: Sprint Cycling

Alexandra Manley, first overall

The second stage of the 2023 Women’s Tour Down Under was uneventful until a group of 15 riders broke away from the main peloton. There were some attempted escapes, such as that of Australian Amanda Pratt from Trek-Segafredo on Mount Lofty, but she was neutralized by the pursuit group.

Alexandra Manley was the fastest of this breakaway group, crossing the finish line ahead of Georgia Williams and Nina Buijmans in second and third respectively. Following this second day of racing, the women’s edition of the Tour Down Under will begin in Adelaide with the 93.2 kilometer third stage and finish in Campbelltown.

The women’s edition of the Tour Down Under 2023 takes place from January 15 to January 17 with three consecutive stages and a total distance of 293.6 km. The list of women’s teams is made up of a total of 13 formations: Team Jaco-Alula, Trek-Segafredo, FDJ-Suez, Human Powered Health, Israel Premier Tech, EF Education-Tibco-SVB, ST Michel-Auber 93, Team Coop-Hitec , Zaff Cycling Team, Jigsaw Skip Capital, Team Bridgelane and the Australian and New Zealand national teams.

Top-10 of the second phase

  1. a. Manley (Team Jaco-Alula) – 5:26:20
  2. Yes. Williams (EF Education-Tibco) – +0:08
  3. Yes. Brown (FDJ-Suez) – +0:08
  4. R. Roseman-Gannon (Team Jayco-Alula) – +0:13
  5. a. Spratt (Trek-Segafredo) – +0:14
  6. Ann Frain (Australian national team) – +0:14
  7. L’Adjust (FDJ-Suez) – +0:14
  8. Of. Dobell-Hickok (EF Education-Tibco) – +0:14
  9. N. Buijsman (Human Powered Health) – +0:16
  10. D. De Francesco (ZAAF Cycling Team) – +0:20
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news