Australia announces full strength squad for Sri Lanka tour

MELBOURNE, Australia ( Associated Press) – Australia will be close to full force for all three legs of their Sri Lankan tour as 34 players were named on Friday for matches across all formats in June and July.

Marcus Harris was the biggest surprise after not being included in the 16-man Test squad, which will play two matches in Galle to end the seven-week tour. The tour will begin with three Twenty20 matches followed by five One Day Internationals.

Star players Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell have all returned to the limited-overs squad that missed the recent white-ball game in Pakistan.

This will be the first tour of the team with new head coach Andrew McDonald.

Test captain Pat Cummins will be ruled out of the T20I while first-choice spinner Adam Zampa will be ruled out of the entire tour due to the birth of his first child.

Fringe players can still pursue their cases for Australia A in Hambantota to feature in a Test series in two four-day matches.

“It is incredibly exciting to have an Australia A component that gives players more flexibility and opportunities to cross over and be available to all teams,” said selection chief George Bailey. “It could be from a test or white ball preparation standpoint or from an opportunity to impress at the international level.”


Australia team:

Tests: Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

ODIs: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Twenty20: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner


Australia tour of Sri Lanka:

7 June: 1st T20I, Colombo

8 June: 2nd T20I, Colombo

June 11: Third T20, Kandy.

June 14: 1st ODI, Kandy

16 June: 2nd ODI, Kandy

19 June: 3rd ODI, Colombo

June 21: 4th ODI, Colombo

June 24: 5th ODI, Colombo

June 29-July 3: First Test, Galle

July 8-12: Second Test Test, Galle


Australia A match

8 June: 1st ODI, Colombo

10 June: 2nd ODI, Colombo

June 14-17: First-class Tour match Hambantota

June 21-24: First Class Tour Match, Hambantota


More Associated Press Cricket: and


Get the best of Newspaper delivered to your inbox daily

Most Viewed

Related Stories