Sunday, January 29, 2023

Australia won the T20 toss against Bangladesh, fielding first

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (NWN) – Australia won the toss and elected to field against Bangladesh, who are struggling for victory in a Super 12 match in the T20 World Cup on Thursday.

Australia, who lost to England, will have to beat Bangladesh and defending champions West Indies in their remaining group matches to stay in the race for the semi-finals.

Middle-order batsman Mitchell Marsh made a comeback and replaced Ashton Agar in the only change for Australia.

Bangladesh, already out of the race for the semi-finals, have lost all their four matches in the Super 12. It failed to defend 171 against Sri Lanka, was hammered by England, lost a thriller by three runs to West Indies, then was demolished by South Africa for 84 runs.

Left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman has replaced spinner Nasum Ahmed for his last match of the tournament.



Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naeem, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (Captain), Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shorful Islam.


More NWN Sports: and


Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news