Australian captain Hooper will not play against Los Pumas from Argentina and will return to his home country


The Australian rugby team captain, Michael Hooper, will not be available for Saturday’s game against his Argentine counterpart for the first date of the Rugby Championship, and will immediately return to his home country “for personal reasons”, he announced this Friday. Rugby.

Hooper, who was confirmed as a starter in the Wallabies fifteen for Saturday’s match in Mendoza (West), suffers a last-minute casualty and is expected not to play against the second date. . Los Cougar.

The Australian Rugby Federation said in a statement that Hopper, who has 121 appearances on the national team, “is not at this time mentally fit to carry out the mission of leading and representing his country”, for which he played his first Alleged “personal reasons”. Teammates and coaching staff.

Hooper expressed that “I know it wasn’t an easy decision to make, but it’s the right one for me and the team at the moment. I’ve spent my entire career trying to push the team forward and I don’t think I’ll make it.” I can. My responsibilities at this time.” ,

Wallabies coach Dave Rainey said: “Michael is one of the most professional men I’ve ever worked with. I know it has been a difficult decision for him. He decided to accept his position and act on it. I showed a lot of courage. We will support as much as we can and the team will focus on tomorrow’s game.”

James Slipper will then be the Australian captain at Mendoza, while Fraser McWright will replace Hooper at number seven.

The Hoopers have a second loss of weight in the Wallabies, who had already landed in Argentina without center Samu Carevi, a key factor in powering the attack of the Australian formation.

Australia will make it on Saturday with: Tom Wright – Jordan Petia, Len Ikitou, Hunter Paisami and Marika Koroibet – Quaid Cooper and Nick White – Rob Valentini, Fraser McRaete and Jade Holloway – Matt Phillip and Darcy Swain – Alan Allatoa, Folau Finga’a and James Slipper (captain). Substitute: Lachlan Lonergan, Matt Gibbon, Daniela Tupo, Nick Frost, Rob Liotta, Pete Samu, Jake Gordon and Reece Hodge.