Saturday, April 1, 2023

Canada, Mexico and United States to Host 2026 World Cup, FIFA Choose 16 Cities

The World Football Federation (FIFA) has selected 16 cities from the United States, Canada and Mexico to host the 2026 World Cup. The majority are from Uncle Sam’s country.

Of the 16 host cities, 11 of them are in the United States. They are Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, New York/New Jersey, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Seattle.

Then two cities are located in Canada, namely Toronto and Vancouver. Then three more in Mexico, namely Guadalajara, Mexico City and Monterrey.

For the 2026 edition, it will be the first time that 48 teams from six confederations will participate. There are an additional 16 teams from this year’s edition in Qatar. The 2026 World Cup will also be held in three different countries.

The choice of 16 cities was confirmed during a ceremony at Rockefeller Center, New York City, Thursday (16/6/2022) local time.

“We congratulate the 16 FIFA World Cup host cities for their extraordinary commitment and passion,” FIFA president Gianni Infantino said in a statement.

“Today is a historic day – for everyone in that city and state, for FIFA, for Canada, the US and Mexico to put on the greatest show on Earth.”

There are a number of cities such as Cincinnati, Denver, Edmonton, Nashville, Orlando and Washington DC/Baltimore that did not pass the selection.

“We look forward to working with them to deliver what will be an unprecedented and game-changing FIFA World Cup as we seek to make football truly global.”

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news