Monday, March 27, 2023

CC name three new trustees

Colorado College has named three new members to the Board of Trustees following its June 2022 meeting: Lily Chen ’19; Jenna Graber Hausman ’93, and Vicente Blass-taijeron ’24. The term of the trustees begins on July 1.

“The Board of Trustees are thrilled to welcome Lily Chen, Vincent Blass-Taijeron and Jenna Graber Haussmann,” says Chairman of the Board, Jeff Keller ’91. “We are very fortunate to have so many talented, deserving alumni and students who have such a strong desire to serve their school. I look forward to serving them all.”

Lily Chen ’19, who will serve as the Young Alumnus Trustee, is the CEO of Contenda, a tech content marketing startup based in Philadelphia. During his time at Colorado College, Chen majored in math economics, co-founded the school’s esports team, and received numerous accolades, including the Ray Werner Award for Most Outstanding Thesis. Since his graduation, Chen has worked as a software engineer at several companies including Facebook Reality Labs.

“My time at Colorado College was integral to everything I was able to achieve post-grad,” says Chen. “I am honored to serve the CC community.”

Jenna Graber Hausman ’93, who was elected to the position of alumnus trustee this year, has served as President and CEO of Children’s Hospital Colorado since 2015. Haussmann majored in Political Science and in 2019 received an honorary Ph.D. from Colorado College. She serves on several boards including the Children’s Hospital Association of America, American Hospital Association Region 8, and the Denver Museum of Nature and Science.

“Colorado College is a gem among liberal arts colleges and one of the best in the country despite the many challenges facing higher education today,” says Hausmann.

Vicente Blass-Taijeron ’24, who will serve as student trustee, holds a Feminist and Gender Studies major and Race, Ethnicity, and Migration Studies minor. He Student government is diversity, equality and inclusive leadership for the union and a spiraling companion to the office of clergy. Blas-Taijeron was one of six Colorado college students selected for this year’s Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship.

,I decided to run for student trustee because I believe in the ability to create change through collectivism,” says Blass-Taijron.

During a meeting held on June 8–10, the board also voted to approve three faculty members for full professorships: Pedro de Araujo of the Department of Economics, Scott Johnson of the Department of Arts and Sanjay Thakur of the Department of Classics.

Vice President Pedro de Araujo has served as the Dean of the College since January. D’Araujo earned his Ph.D. in Economics from Indiana University. De Araujo also serves as the Dean’s Office Liaison for the Honor Council and Faculty Athletics Representative.

Scott Johnson recently installed projects at Another Victory Over the Sun, a group exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Denver. Johnson holds a Master of Fine Arts from Temple University’s Tyler School of Art.

Sanjay Thakur has taught at Colorado College since 2008 and most recently Elizabeth A. at the American School for Classical Studies, Athens for the 2022-23 academic year. Whitehead was chosen as the Distinguished Scholar. He serves as director of the Classical Summer School at the American Academy, Rome, and is chairman of the Committee on Diversity in the Profession of the Society for Classical Studies. Thakur has done Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

Outgoing Trustee Kishan Mangat ’96, Phil Swan ’84, Student Trustee Gabi Jadote ’22, and Young Alumnus Trustee Onyx Bengsten ’18 are expiring their terms on June 30.

“This experience taught me the importance of looking to the immediate past to solve underlying challenges, which is a lesson I will bring with me to the workplace and beyond,” Jadote says. “I expect the student trustee position to expand in the future to allow more students the opportunity to learn from an incredible group, as well as a wider range of CC experiences to improve the college’s strategic planning and decision-making process. be represented.”

Gypsy Ames, assistant associate professor of theater and dance, and Cathy Giuffre, professor of sociology, were approved for retirement this year and given emerita status.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news