Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Could Scott Rolen be the 18th third baseman in Cooperstown?

NEW YORK ( Associated Press) – Scott Rolen could become just the 18th third baseman elected to Baseball’s Hall of Fame, the fewest of any inductee.

“It stems from the early prejudice that third base is not important defensively,” John Thorne, the official historian of Major League Baseball, said Monday. “I think Brooks Robinson changed that perception. Like relievers, who were long considered failures by starting pitchers, rather than a new role in the changing game, the third base position was considered for failures. Was.

The seven-time All-Star, who retired after the 2012 season, Rollen is among the top candidates on a 28-man ballot considered by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. The results of the voting will be announced on Tuesday. He received 10.2% in his first appearance in 2018, rising to 52.9% in 2021 and 63.2% last year, when he fell 47 votes short of the required minimum of 75%.

As of Monday evening, according to records held by Ryan Thibodeaux, the leaders in the poll are first baseman Todd Helton with 79.8%, Rolen with 79.2 and reliever Billy Wagner with 73.2%. This included 183 anonymous public votes out of an estimated 396.

When David Ortiz was elected last year, his tally dropped from 83.1% of public ballots before the announcement to 79.8%. Barry Bonds fell from 76.8 to 66% and Roger Clemens from 75.4 to 65.2%. It is possible that no one will be elected for the second time in three years. This could become the first three-year term since the annual poll began in 1966 in which only one player is chosen by the writers.

Those selected will be inducted on July 23 in Cooperstown, along with Fred McGriff, who was elected the previous month by the Players of the Contemporary Era of Baseball Committee.

It consists of 84 players (nine relievers), 27 right fielders, 26 first basemen and shortstops, 24 center fielders, 23 left fielders, 20 second basemen, 19 catchers, and 17 third basemen. There are also three players who were primarily designated hitters, a position that remained until 1973.

Among players since the expansion era in 1961, the only third basemen chosen by the writers are Robinson (1983), Mike Schmidt (1995), George Brett (1999), Paul Molitor (2004), Wade Boggs (2005) and Chipper Jones (2018). ) Huh. , Ron Santo was inducted after a vote of the Veterans Committee.

Puerto Ricans Carlos Beltrán, John Lackey and Jared Weaver are among the 14 players who made their ballet debuts.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Deskhttps://nationworldnews.com
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here