New Delhi: A thrilling match was played between Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers on Wednesday. The two teams kept beating in this match till the last ball of the last over, although RCB won the match by just one run. Because the last ball required 6 runs and Rishabh Pant could hit only fours.
Cricket is said to be a game of uncertainty, not sure when to win, but during the match between RCB and DC, there came a time when RCB players were surprised not to get the wicket of Stoinis.
Actually, this view was seen in the ninth over. When Yuzvendra Chahal came for bowling, he started entangling Stoinis in his spin. On the second ball, Stoinis tried to go for a big shot, but this ball was low. The ball went straight into Stoinis’s pad.
Chahal then made a strong appeal, but the field umpire called it not out. At this point, Virat Kohli came running. He tried to confirm Chahal and wicketkeeper AB de Villiers, so the review countdown also started and Kohli asked for a review after the last one second was saved.
It was clearly seen in the review that Chahal’s ball pitching is inline, its impact is also inline and the ball is hitting the leg stump. In such a situation, Stoinis should have been called out, but not only was he not given out by the field umpire, but the third umpire also decided to continue with the umpires’ call.
Why did this happen in this case? Actually, the answer is that Stoinis was 3 meters ahead of the crease. Now the decision depends on the field umpire whether to call it out or not. Third umpires favor the field umpire in such decisions. For this reason, Stoinis was also not given out in the review.
However, neither Virat Kohli nor the other players sitting in the pavilion agreed with the umpire’s decision. The coach was also surprised by this decision. RCB also missed a review. However, Stoinis survived, but did not manage to get his team to the threshold of victory. Stoinis returned to the pavilion in the 13th over at the hands of AB de Villiers at Harshal Patel’s ball. He scored 22 runs in 17 balls. It is noteworthy that the status of ICC’s LBW system has been disputed many times.