Wednesday, September 28, 2022

DFB admits referee’s wrong decisions

This is rare: with four penalties or non-judgments in the last two Bundesliga match days, the DFB comes to the conclusion that wrong decisions were made. One action was “obviously wrong”, in other situations VAR should have intervened.

Following the controversial handball situations of the last two Bundesliga weekends, the DFB has admitted four wrong decisions by the refereeing teams. “We have analyzed the circumstances and will discuss the results again with the referee before the next match day,” said Peter Sippel, the Bundesliga sporting director at the German Football Association. “The aim should remain to achieve the most uniform possible interpretation of the rules so that clubs, fans and, above all, players can be guessed.”

In the closing stages of the game between Hertha BSC and Bayer Leverkusen (2-2), Leverkusen’s Odilon Kosounou saved the ball with a Hertha shot from his hand – but there was no penalty. According to Sippel, the video assistant “should have intervened because of the clear images and recommended an on-field review to the referee”.

In a 1-0 draw of 1. FC Union Berlin on 1. FC Köln was a handball in the early stages after an alleged handball by Luca Killian. “The movement of the defender’s arm does not represent an unnatural extension of the surface of the body,” Sippel said. The penalty decision was “clearly and clearly wrong, and the video assistant should have intervened”. Cologne’s Marvin Schwabe saved the penalty.

“apparently wrong”

The penalty that Werder Bremen saved in injury time after a 0–1 draw against FC Augsburg should also not have happened. The alleged handball came from Maximilian Bauer. “Here the defender is in a turning motion without a clear orientation for the ball,” Sippel said. “The hands, although slightly removed from the body, should be classified as a natural result of body movement.” The referee “decided a penalty here, which is to be clearly and clearly classified as wrong”.

According to Sippel, Borussia Dortmund’s 1–0 win against TSG 1899 Hoffenheim on the fifth day of play meant that the BVB should have been awarded a penalty after a handball by Ozan Kabak. “After the cross ball, the left forearm goes out into the ball’s trajectory and deflects the ball. As the hand moves towards the ball, it is intentional and a penalty kick would be the logical consequence,” Sippel said. “Since the images clearly show this process, the video assistant should have intervened and given the referee an opportunity to reconsider the situation and make the right decision.”

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Deskhttps://nationworldnews.com
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here