England won the toss, decided to field against India

Birmingham, England ( Associated Press) – England, led by interim captain Jasprit Bumrah, won the toss and elected to field in their Test match against India on Friday.

Bumrah became the first fast bowler after Kapil Dev to lead India after regular skipper Rohit Sharma was ruled out due to coronavirus.

The match is part of a four-Test series in which India lead 2-1, but was postponed last year after several Indian players tested positive for coronavirus ahead of the conclusive test.

Bumrah said during the toss, “It is a great feeling, a great achievement, nothing can be better than this, very excited.”

England are at a high level under the new team management including captain Ben Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum as they beat New Zealand 3-0 in the recent Test series with their aggressive batting.

Old Test horse James Anderson was brought back into the squad after being rested for the last Test against New Zealand at Leeds. England opted to go with a specialist spinner, Jack Leach, who took his first 10-wicket Test against the Kiwis.

Rohit was replaced by Cheteshwar Pujara in the opening slot, while India went with left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja and also included Hanuma Vihari in the top-order batting order.


England: Alex Lees, Jack Crowley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Sam Billings, Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson.

India: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah (captain).