- Advertisement -spot_img
Thursday, April 15, 2021

Fake Fielding: Former South African captain Sean Pollack lashes out at De Cock’s fake fielding

Must read

new Delhi: Fakhar Zaman’s run-out dispute between South Africa and Pakistan in the second ODI is not getting cold. Although the team is playing its third and decisive ODI on Wednesday, the controversy does not seem to be over yet. Meanwhile, former South African captain Sean Pollack has given a statement on fake fielding.

Pollack said on Wednesday, he believes that South African wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock was guilty of deception to run out Pakistan batsman Fakhar Zaman during the second ODI on Sunday.

Pollack, however, stated that he believed De Kock was not aware of a law that makes a singular attempt to “distract, deceive or hinder” a batsman. Speaking in his role as a commentator for a television during the third and final match at Centurion, Pollack said that he believed the incident should have been sent to the third umpire for a decision.

This happened on the first ball of the last over, when Pakistan needed 31 to win. Fakhar hit the ball at long-off and was run out slowing before completing the second run. De Cock signaled Fielder to throw the ball at the other end, after which Fakhar slowed his pace. Although later Fakhar himself said that the mistake was made by him, but the umpires should have taken the decision about it. Fakhar was out for 193 runs.

If the umpires had decided that there was deliberate deception, they could have given Pakistan five penalty runs. So Pakistan would keep Fakhar on strike with a chance of victory. Pollak said, when you look at the incident and analyze it, you will see that the wicketkeeper raises his hand, causing the batsman to wander and then the wicketkeeper laughs.

Pollak said, “I’m not saying that if they did, they knew it was wrong. I don’t think a lot of players know about this rule.

On fake fielding, the Merrillborne Cricket Club says the law is clear, it is up to the umpires to decide if there was any such attempt. If so, then Fakhar is not out. Under this, 5 penalty runs + 2 runs and the batsman should get a strike. However, no statement has been made by the ICC on this runout.

.

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news