Monday, October 2, 2023

Find out how much Florida’s minimum wage will increase on September 30th

Florida is one of 30 states in the country with a minimum wage above the federal minimum wage of $7.50 per hour. Currently, the state minimum wage is $11, but it will increase starting September 30.

On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved a state constitutional amendment to increase the state’s minimum wage annually until it reaches $15 an hour on September 30, 2026.

Amendment 2, passed by the state parliament, represented a change to the state constitution that allowed for a gradual increase in the minimum wage.

Find out how much Florida’s minimum wage will increase on September 30th

Starting September 30 of this year, the state minimum hourly wage will increase to $12. On the other hand, the new overtime wage will simultaneously increase to $18 per hour.

For tipped workers, the minimum wage increases from $7.98 per hour to $8.98 per hour. Meanwhile, the overtime tipping rate will also increase to $14.98 per hour.

The minimum wage in Florida will increase by 2026

Amendment 2 provides periodic increases of $1 through 2026. The schedule for increases to the standard minimum wage is as follows:

  • 2022 – $11 per hour
  • 2023 – $12 and $8.98 for tipped employees
  • 2024 – $13 and $9.98 for tipped employees
  • 2025 – $14 and $10.98 for tipped employees
  • 2026 – $15 and $11.98 for tipped employees

After the last increase in 2026, the minimum wage of $15 per hour will remain in place until December 31, 2027. From 2028, the minimum wage will shift to indexed increases based on inflation, with the aim of not affecting workers’ purchasing power.

Fines for those who do not comply with the minimum wage

According to the law, an employee who has not received the statutory minimum wage, after notifying his employer and giving him fifteen (15) days to clarify the situation, has the right to file a civil lawsuit against the employer.

This would allow you to recover back wages as well as damages and legal fees.

On the other hand, an employer found guilty of willfully violating state minimum wage requirements must pay a $1,000 fine to the state for each violation.

In addition to Florida, other states will also increase their salaries next year. Here are more details: These are the states that will increase their minimum wage in 2024.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news