Monday, May 29, 2023

G7 announces new sanctions to punish Russia for war in Ukraine

The leaders of several of the world’s seven most important countries agreed this Friday New sanctions “deny Russia of G7 technology, industrial equipment and services that underpin its war machine” in Ukraine.

“We reaffirm our commitment to a common front against Russia’s illegal, unjustified and unprovoked war of aggression against Ukraine,” the heads of state and government of the grouping of major industrial democracies declared.

The package, announced at a summit in Hiroshima, Japan, Including a ban on the export of goods “critical to Russia on the battlefield.” as well as measures against entities accused of fronting material for Moscow’s benefit.

The United States already set the tone this Friday morning by announcing new sanctions against Moscow to restrict Russia’s access “Products needed for their combat capabilities.”

For its part, the United Kingdom announced measures against the Russian mining sector and the diamond industry in particular.

G7 also committed in its release “Prohibit the trade and use of diamonds mined, treated or produced in Russia”, Using tracking technologies.

The G7, or Group of Seven, is an intergovernmental political forum made up of many of the most important countries on this side of the world. Currently, and since its creation, the G7 is made up of Germany, Canada, the United States, France, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here