Saturday, January 28, 2023

Guillermo del Toro wins Best Animated Feature at the 2023 Critics’ Choice Awards

Mexican filmmaker Guillermo del Toro’s film Pinocchio won the award for Best Animated Film at the 2023 Critics’ Choice Awards.

At the 28th awards ceremony held at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles, the Mexican Reliance was honored with its most recent production.

Upon receiving it, del Toro asked to consider animation.

“Anima is to give soul to something that does not have it; It’s a great way to encapsulate that,” he said.

He recalled that luckily the project was rejected by all the studios and took him more than 15 years to complete since it started in 2004.

“Animation is an excellent way to achieve great goals; Animation isn’t just for kids, it’s a way of speaking, a way of coming to terms with patience.

He said that this is a new version of an old story.

“It’s an old and timeless film that we’ve made new.”

The award was dedicated to director James Cameron.

The Critics Association of the United States and Canada (CCA, for its abbreviation in English) represents over 600 media journalists dedicated to entertainment, tasked with selecting the best actors, actresses and other professionals in film and television. goes.

was welcomed by comedian Chelsea Handler as she introduced the nominees, who were smiling from their seats.

The first award of the night went to Amanda Seyfried, who won “Best Actress in a TV Series or TV Movie” for the Star+ series The Dropout.

“It’s an incredible result, it’s taken a long time, it’s amazing, insane, I love being able to celebrate the event like this,” said the actress, who joined the critics’ committee and her production team of The Dropout. thanked

India’s representative film RRR from Variance Films emerged as the Best Foreign Film leaving behind favorites like Argentina, 1985 and Bard: False Chronicle of a Few Truths.

Daniel Radcliffe won Best Actor in a Miniseries or a Movie Made for Television for his role in Weird: The Al Yankovic Story, although the British actor was not present at the ceremony.

Angela Bassett won Best Supporting Actress for her role in Marvel Studios’ Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.

“I fell in love with acting as a kid… watching a production at the Kennedy Center and knew this was what I wanted to do, to make people feel like… thank god , exceptionally talented black actresses showed me that there was a place for me in this business,” he said.

Actor and stunt choreographer Jonathan Ke Quan, better known as Ke Hui Quan, won the Best Supporting Actor award.

He said, “I want to try so hard not to cry tonight, since the movie came out, everyone has shown it to me… I’m so nervous, I didn’t expect it.”

“When I think about it, my story, it could have been very different, if it wasn’t for the critics and the journalists… They not only help the audience who saw our film, but they help us to know It also helps me be who I am.” Morning.”

Henry Winkler (Barry) and Sherrill Lee Ralph (Abbott Elementary) were honored for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series.

Niecy Nash-Bates won Best Supporting Actress for her role in Netflix’s Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story, beating out other strong contenders such as Claire Danes and Dominique Fishback.

Comedian Paul Walter Hauser took the stage to receive the award for Best Supporting Actor in a Limited Series for Black Bird.

Best Supporting Actor or Actress in a Drama Series

The double nod crowned Giancarlo Esposito for Outstanding Supporting Actor and Actress in a Drama Series for his role in Better Call Saul.

“My essence was able to be blessed by the great team, our great artists, they have guided us with their great work. I am very honored… we are sincerely in love with each other and forever Can share”, he expressed emotionally.

see her award

One of the most emotional moments of the evening was the presentation of the Seehar Special Award by Kate Hudson, which recognizes inspirational women.

Hudson, who presented a clip reviewing the career of the American actress, singer and producer, said: “She inspires the next generation to see themselves for who they are. This year’s winner is my friend Janelle Monae… Amazing and inspiring artist.” ,

“Thank you for recognizing me, I’m so grateful,” said Janelle Monáe, who received a standing ovation.

Another moment was the presentation of the Special Lifetime Achievement Award, which went to actor Jeff Bridges, who dedicated the recognition to his father.

Jeremy Allen White won Best Comedian for The Bear; Jean Smart won Best Actress in a Comedy for her role in Hacks, and Abbott Elementary won Best Comedy Series.

Best Actor in a Drama Series went to Bob Odenkirk for Better Call Saul; Zendaya won Best Actress in a Drama Series for Euphoria, and Best Drama Series for Better Call Saul.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here