Saturday, May 28, 2022

Here’s what you need to know about early voting for the May 24 primary runoff

Early voting begins Monday in the state and county primary runoff, which includes deciding on a Democratic opponent on November’s ballot in the race to replace US Representative Louis Gohmert in Congress.

Democrats Jarmar Jefferson of Texarkana and Victor Dunn of Kilgore are facing each other after securing more than 50% of the vote in the March primary. In the final results, Jefferson earned 7,341 votes, or 45.52%, while Dunn received 4,512 votes, or 27.98%.

Gohart, R-Tyler, is vacating the seat after challenging Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton in the GOP primary. Gohart finished last among the four AG candidates.

Jefferson or Dunn will face Republican Smith County Judge Nathaniel Moran in the general election.

Jefferson, originally from Texarkana, has previously said that his involvement in politics began when he did not know how to help his father, who at the time was the longest serving prisoner on death row in Texas. were prisoners. He said Jefferson’s father’s conviction was eventually overturned after his case went to the Supreme Court.

Jefferson went to college in California to become a teacher. However, a professor and political science classmates encouraged him to register voters.

Jefferson said there are five key issues he would like to address as a member of Congress, including his “Health Care Investment Literacy Act,” education, economic development, public safety and quality of life.

Dunn said he has always been in East Texas, which allows him to understand the needs of the community. He owns a business called Dunn Group that specializes in workers’ compensation services statewide.

He had earlier said that he would represent the entire district, not a part of it, and as a man with a “common sense” approach and values ​​of fairness and level-headedness, he said he could achieve a lot in Congress. .

Read Also:  Macron talks about security in the conservative stronghold of France. Nation World News

Dunn also said that she aims to bring God back into the issues because she believes “there are a lot of problems in government right now that we’ve taken God, spirituality out of issues.”

Meanwhile, Greg County Pct. 4 Commissioner Shannon Brown and Democratic challenger Danny Craig are in the runoff to decide the senior seat because the winner has no Republican opponent in November.

Craig and Brown were the top two vote-getters in their four-man March Democratic primary. Craig received 562 votes, or 39%, while Brown received 453 votes, or 31.5%. Daryl Williams received 340 votes, or 23.64%, while G Floyd received 83 votes, or 5.77%.

Craig previously served as PCT. 4 Commissionerates for two terms from 1999 to 2006.

Upon being elected, Craig said he would like to work to maintain the county’s low tax rate and provide funds for residents’ needs. He has previously said he wants to work with county leaders and “make sure Pct. 4, a minority border, is not left behind.”

Brown and three others were accused of electoral fraud in the 2018 Democratic primary, which they won over former Longview Councilwoman Kasha Williams.

Brown was charged with 23 felony counts including organized election fraud, fraudulent use of a mail ballot application, election fraud and tampering with government records with intent to harm or fraud.

Earlier this year, Brown pleaded guilty to a single misdemeanor charge of electoral fraud and was sentenced to one year’s probation and a $2,000 fine. He was also instructed to write a letter apologizing to the residents of Gregg County and to participate in community service work.

Read Also:  GOP business owner Michelle is running for governor of Wisconsin

Brown previously said he wanted to assure that the border gets its fair share of tax revenue for continuing with road work across its borders.

Early voting has been scheduled for May 16 to May 20, while election day is May 24.

When and where

Early voting has been scheduled for May 16 to 20 at these times and locations:

First Floor of Gregg County Courthouse, 101 E. Methwyn St., Longview: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Judson Community Center, 1129 FM 1844, Longview: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Gregton Community Center, 3211 W. Marshall Ave., Longview: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Alderville Community Center, 10450 TX 349, Longview: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Meadowbrook Country Club, 1306 Houston St., Kilgore: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more information, visit

state republican

attorney general

Ken Paxton

George P. Bush

Commissioner of General Land Office

Tim Westley

don buckingham

railroad commissioner

Sarah Stogner

Wayne Christian

state democrats

First Congress District

Jarmar Jefferson

Victor Dunn

lieutenant governor

Mike Collier

Michelle Beckley

attorney general

Rochelle Michelle Garza

Joe Jorsky

controller of public accounts

Janet T. Dudding

Angel Louis Vega

Commissioner of General Land Office

Jay Kleiberg

sandragrace martínez

Greg County Republican

PCT. 4 Chair

David Sims

Bonnie Walters

PCT. 9 Chair

Jessica Lowry

Kathy E. Leu

don barber

PCT. 16 Chair

Charles Curtis Shockley

Ryan Wolf

Greg County Democrat

PCT. 4 commissioners

Danny Craig Sr.

Shannon Brown


Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here