Thursday was the 570th regular-season matchup between the Montreal Canadiens and the Chicago Blackhawks, and of all those games, it’s safe to say that none ended like this.
The two Original Six rivals played a tough back-and-forth game over the course of 60 minutes and the score was tied 2-2. In the middle of the extra frame, Blackhawks forward Philip Kurashev overtook Canadiens defenseman Jeff Petrie on the blue line and skated to the breakaway. Before Kurashev could shoot Canadiens forward Mike Hoffman, both forwards struck him, flying into Canadian goalkeeper Samuel Montembolt and knocking the net with his peg.
After two lengthy video reviews, officials determined that Kurashev had scored the game-winning goal on the play, and the Blackhawks celebrated their third straight victory. The Canadiens, who have now lost five straight, were naturally disappointed, with head coach Dominic Ducharme calling the whole situation “hard to swallow”.
But why was this goal allowed to count? Let’s take a closer look at both the reviews to find out:
Review 1: Did the puck go into the trap?
Officials were the first to see if the puck had actually crossed the goal line. In this case, the video clearly shows that the puck continues to slide across the line between the goalposts – or at least, where the post should be. While the net was out of the peg at the time the puck crossed the line, the goal was allowed to count thanks to Rule 63.7, which states:
“In the event that the goal post is, intentionally or accidentally, displaced by a defending player, before crossing the goal line between the normal positions of the goalpost, the referee may award a goal. In the event, the goal post must be displaced by the defending player’s actions, the attacking player must have an imminent scoring opportunity before the goal post is displaced, and it must be determined that the puck must have entered the net. . General position of the goalpost.”
In a statement released after the game, the NHL said that video review determined that Hoffman (the defending player) “displaced the net with his moorings before crossing the goal line.” As a result, the goal was awarded to Kurashev because he was not to blame for the position that resulted in the net being knocked over as the puck slipped into it.
Review 2: Was Kurashev off-side?
The second review was to determine whether Kurashev was off-side when entering the offensive zone. This review was initiated by the Positions Cell and was not a coach’s challenge due to Rule 38.3, which states that the Positions Cell takes responsibility for investigating any scenarios that would normally occur in the third period and the last minute of overtime by the coach. belongs to the challenge.
On this play, Kurashev receives a cross-ice pass from Brandon Hegel near the Canadians Blue Line. Kurashev reached behind himself to collect the pass and pushed the puck forward before skating into the zone for his scoring chance.
According to Rule 83.1, the position of a player’s skates would determine whether he entered the field before the puck and was therefore off-side: “A player is off-side when both skates are completely covered by the blue line.” are on the leading edge. In the game.”
The second component of this review involves the control of the puck. To keep the flow of the game going, the NHL has a rule that helps prevent players from putting themselves off-side while accidentally taking the puck. This rule, under 83.1 also states, “A player who actually controls the puck, who crosses the line ahead of the puck, shall not be deemed to be ‘off-side’, provided that his skates are crossed by First he has possession and control of the puck. Along the blue line.”
Upon this review, officials determined that Kurashev’s skates were still in contact with the blue line when he received a pass from Hegel, and that both of his skates had control of the puck before fully crossing the line. For those reasons, he was on-side and was allowed to advance into the zone and eventually score the game-winning goal.