How many are there and what day do they fall?

0
0
How many are there and what day do they fall?

This Friday, December 1, begins one of the most anticipated seasons for families in Colombia. A time where the smell of custard and fritters filled the kitchens of homes and the voice of Pastor López echoed in neighborhood shops across the country.

The last month of the year is one of the most cherished because it combines the end of the school calendar, the arrival of the end of the year celebration, and the collective vacation of many companies and universities.

In addition, a good part of Colombians take advantage of this last tourist season of the year to schedule their long-awaited vacations, because, between December and January, there are four holidays added , which became an excuse to schedule some rest days.

How many holidays are there in December?

End 2023 with two holidays that mark the beginning of the Christmas season and the birth of Jesus Christ for the Christian religion. Two of the most anticipated dates for Colombians that indicate a time of celebrations and family gatherings.

Read Also:  What is it and how to recognize syphilis, a disease that has increased in the United States to levels not seen since the 1950s?

The first holiday celebrated in the last month of the year is Friday, December 8, the date on which the Day of the Immaculate Conception of Mary is celebrated. During this Catholic celebration, which marks the beginning of the Christmas holidays, the moment when the Virgin Mary was conceived by the Holy Spirit.

The second and last holiday of the year is Monday, December 25, the date that celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ for the Judeo-Christian tradition. This is one of the most important dates in the liturgical calendar, because it marks the arrival of the son of God on Earth.

Read Also:  Exchange link: the UBA audits and began to think tank impact in ANSeS

How do you get paid if you have to work on one of these holidays?

As stipulated in Law 51 of 1983 or ‘Emiliani Law’, public and private employees have the right to enjoy paid time off on official holidays.

Pursuant to Article 179 of the Substantive Labor Code, it is determined that workers must receive additional compensation of 75% for holidays and Sundays where they perform their work.

This being the case, what it seeks is the protection of labor rights and the guarantee of fair compensation in this sense.

Holidays in 2024

And so that you can organize your vacations for next year, we share the calendar of holidays for 2024:

  • Monday, January 1: New Years
  • Monday, January 8: Three Kings Day
  • Monday, March 25: Saint Joseph’s Day
  • Thursday, March 28: Maundy Thursday
  • Friday, March 29: Good Friday
  • Wednesday, May 1: Labor Day
  • Monday, May 13: Ascension Day
  • Monday, June 3: Corpus Christi
  • Monday, June 10: Sacred Heart Day
  • Monday, July 1: Saint Peter and Saint Paul Day
  • Saturday, July 20: Independence Day in Colombia
  • Wednesday, August 7: Battle of Boyacá
  • Monday, August 19: Assumption of the Virgin
  • Monday, October 14: Columbus Day
  • Monday, November 4: All Saints’ Day
  • Monday, November 11: Independence Day in Cartagena
  • Sunday, December 8: Day of the Immaculate Conception
  • Wednesday, December 25: Christmas
Read Also:  They have developed a new treatment against intestinal helminthiasis that affects a fifth of the global population