The WhatsApp application already has a new function that allows you to block specific chats with your fingerprint instead of protecting the entire application as it was done for a few years. This innovation is called “Chat Lock” and it gives us the ability to protect our most private chats from prying eyes. We show you how to use it to completely customize the messaging app.
Protected conversations will not be listed next to non-blocked ones, but device authentication will be required to read their contents, and the message will also not appear in mobile phone notifications. In other words, an important step has been taken in terms of privacy.
Steps to keep your conversations secure on WhatsApp
WhatsApp has implemented a new method which is very unique and efficient. On Android devices, this relies on the fingerprint reader (which may be built into the power button or the screen itself). To do this, all you have to do is open the conversation you want to protect and click on the name in the top bar to open the information window. There you will find an option for “Block Chats” right at the bottom of the screen.
The next step you should take is to check the option “Lock this chat with fingerprint” and, once our identity is confirmed using the device’s biometrics, the chat will be completely secure. It is important to note that in order to use WhatsApp blocked chats, it is necessary to configure the fingerprint on the device in advance so that it can properly recognize them.
If all went well, you’ll see the message “This chat is now blocked.” From then on, new message notifications will not be displayed and the chat itself will not appear in the WhatsApp conversation list with other people.
It is important to note that this protection only applies to WhatsApp on mobile devices and does not apply to other devices, such as the version or the version for computers. These are the brief steps to secure WhatsApp chats with fingerprint.
Where is protected chat
By password-protecting a WhatsApp conversation, it is no longer visible in chat lists with other people (without affecting the reception of messages). Instead, it will appear in a folder called “Blocked Chats” at the top of the chat list. It’s not always visible and sometimes you have to swipe down to make it appear.