Monday, September 25, 2023

How to vote for The Best? Format and who votes for the awards

The nominees and nominees of the Awards have been announced ‘The Best’ 2023. The Best award was given, by category, to best players in the calendar year during the period between December 19, 2022 to August 20, 2023 in the case of the men’s award, and from August 1, 2022 to August 20, 2023 in the case of the women’s award.

Voting format

The format for selecting winners follows a two-round voting where the winners are chosen through fair elections.

First of all, a a group of experts from FIFA and external interest groups from the world of football made a first selection of the candidates where each member picks their three favorite players, coaches and goalkeepers for ‘The Best’.

Two lists of eleven candidates were drawn from this selection. each for the best player, another of the five members for the best coach and, finally, two lists of five candidates for the best goalkeeper, male and female.

From there it will go to the second round of voting., where four relevant actors from the world of football became the jury of the awards. Each group has the same share of the vote (25%) and is divided between these criteria:

Captains and captains of 211 soccer teams.

Trainers and trainers of 211 soccer teams.

One reporter from each team member of FIFA.

Enthusiasts through online voting on the FIFA website.

In this way, the four groups equally select the winners of the awards edition.

The complete list of 2023 nominees

Best player:

Julián Álvarez (Argentina); Marcelo Brozović (Croatia); Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium); Ilkay Gundogan (Germany); Erling Haaland (Norway); Rodri Hernández Cascante (Spain); Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia); Kylian Mbappé (France); Lionel Messi (Argentina); Victor Osimhen (Nigeria); Declan Rice (England); Bernardo Silva (Portugal).

Best player:

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain); Jenni Hermoso (Spain); Mapi León (Spain); Salma Paralluelo (Spain); Linda Caicedo (Colombia); Rachel Daly (England); Alex Greenwood (England); Lauren James (England); Keira Walsh (England); Kadidiatou Diani (France); Caitlin Food (Australia); Kerr (Australia); Mary Fowler (Australia); Lindsey Horan (USA); Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden); Sam Hinata Miyazawa (Japan).

Best Men’s Soccer Coach:

Pep Guardiola (Spain); Simone Inzaghi (Italy); Ange Postecoglou (Australia); Luciano Spalletti (Italy); Xavi Hernández (Spain).

Best women’s soccer coach:

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden); Jonatan Giráldez (Spain); Tony Gustavsson (Sweden); Emma Hayes (England); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands).

Best goalkeeper:

Yassine Bounou (Morocco); Thibaut Courtois (Belgium); Ederson (Brazil); André Onana (Cameroon); Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany)

Best goalkeeper:

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia); Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany); Catalina Coll (Spain); Mary Earps (England); Christiane Endler (Chile); Zećira Mušović (Sweden); Sandra Paños (Spain).

Nominated for the FIFA Fan Award:

Fan of Club Atlético Colón de Santa Fe (Argentina); Fran Hurndall (England); Miguel Ángel, fan of Millonarios (Colombia).

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news