Sunday, June 4, 2023

In search of a seventh: Tour of Argentina title in a category where it reigns

Hours before a new Under-20 World Cup begins, in Double Yellow we review the six world titles won by the Argentine team in the said competition, the most victorious in a history so rich that it is in search of ‘La Septima’ Will go home

The story of glory begins in Japan in 1979 and it was with Cesar Luis Menotti on the bench, who had already been world champion in 197. The star figure in that tournament was a young Diego Armando Maradona, with goals from Ramon Díaz. Osvaldo Escudero, Juan Ernesto Simón, Juan Barbas and Gabriel Calderón were also involved.

Argentina 3 vs USSR 1 Japan 1979 Youth World Cup Retro TV Soccer

Argentina shared a group with Poland, Yugoslavia and Indonesia, where they qualified first with six points after defeating Indonesia (5–0), defeating Yugoslavia (1–0) and Poland (4–1). They then blanked Algeria (5–0), Uruguay (2–0) on the road and beat the Soviet Union 3–1 in the final with goals from Hugo Alves, Ramon Díaz and Diego Maradona.

We had to wait until 1995, 16 years later, for Argentina to be able to become champion again hand in hand with José Pekerman. It was also in Qatar that Argentina beat Brazil (2-0) in the final, with goals from Leonardo Biagini and Francisco Guerrero, marking the start of what would be a super successful cycle with the coach in charge.

Argentina 2 vs Brazil 0 Mundial U20 Qatar 1995 FUTBOL Retro TV

The ‘Albiceleste’ were drawn in Group C along with Portugal, the Netherlands and Honduras, where they qualified in second place with 6 points after beating the Dutch 1–0, losing 1–0 to the Lusitanians and 4–2 to the Poles. Did.

Then, to become champions, they eliminated Cameroon (2–0), Spain (3–0) and the aforementioned Brazil (2–0).

In Malaysia 97, Jose Pekerman won the championship twice and the third star for Argentina. It was a star-studded team, including Juan Roman Riquelme, Pablo Aimar, Esteban Cambiasso, Bernardo Romeo, Walter Samuel and Diego Placente.

In the group stage, Argentina joined Zone E where they finished second after defeating Hungary 3–0, defeating Canada 2–1 and losing 4–3 to Australia.

Argentina 2 Uruguay 1 U20 World Final 1997

In the round of 16, the national team eliminated England (2–1); In a memorable match they beat Brazil on the road (2–0) in the quarter-finals and beat Ireland (1–0) in the semi-finals to reach the final against Uruguay where they won 2–0 with goals from Esteban Cambiasso and Diego Quintana. Won by 1. ,

In the only instance as a host, Argentina were given a chair in 2001 to add a fourth title to their history.

That team put on the pitch players such as Javier Saviola, Andrés D’Alessandro, Maxi Rodríguez, Leandro Romagnoli and Nicolás Burdisso.

Argentina 3 Ghana 0 Sub 20 World Cup Argentina 2001 World Champion

Javier ‘Conjito’ Saviola took the Golden Boot with 11 goals (the highest score in the history of these competitions) and the Golden Ball for best player of the tournament, which was left in the hands of the home team after defeating Ghana. 3–0 in the final with goals from Diego Colotto, Saviola and Maximiliano Rodríguez.

The national team shared a group and defeated Finland (2–0), Egypt (7–1) and Jamaica (5–1), where they qualified with a perfect score (9 points), and then China (2–0). 1) has been abolished. Round of 16, France (3–1) in the quarter-finals, Paraguay (5–0) in the semi-finals and the Africans (3–0), the undefeated champions.

Holland 2005 was the beginning of the story between Lionel Messi and Kun Aguero. Pablo Zabaleta (captain), Ezequiel Garay and Fernando Gago also played in that luxury team.

Under the technical direction of Francisco Ferraro, Argentina won their fifth title by defeating Nigeria 2–1 in a controversial final, with goals from Lionel Messi.

Argentina 2 Nigeria 1 Sub 20 World Cup 2005 Argentina World Champion

After a 1-0 loss to the North Americans followed by wins against Egypt (2-0) and Germany (1-0), ‘Pancho’ team finished second in Group D with six units behind the United States.

On the way to the title, they eliminated Colombia (2–1) in the round of 16, Spain (3–1) in the quarterfinals, Brazil again in the final (2–1) and the Africans (2) in the aforementioned finals. . – 1).

We had our last celebration at the Under-20 level, 16 years ago. In Canada 2007, the team that stars ‘Kun’ Agüero, Ángel Di María, Ever Banega and Mauro Zarate was undefeated and defeated the Czech Republic (2–1). ) with goals from Agüero and Zarate in the final.

argentina 2 vs czech republic 1 sub 20 world cup final canada 2007 retro football

In this tournament, the national team faced the Czech Republic (0–0), Panama (6–0) and North Korea (1–0) in the group stage, where they finished first with seven points.

In the round of 16 they faced Poland where they won 3–1, in the quarter-finals they beat Mexico 1–0, in the semi-finals they beat Chile 3–0 and then in the final match (2–0). 1) Defeated the Europeans.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here