- Advertisement -
Tuesday, March 9, 2021

IND vs ENG: England won the toss, decided to bat first

Must read

new Delhi : A four-Test series is going to start in Chennai between India and England from today. The first Test match between the two countries will be played at Chepak Stadium in Chennai from today. The first match of the four-Test series between India and England is being played at Chepauk ground in Chennai. England captain Joe Root has decided to bat first after winning the toss in the Chennai Test. Virat Kohli and Ishant Sharma have returned to the Indian team, while Shahbaz Nadeem has replaced Akshar Patel. An international cricket match is being held in India after about 11 months due to the Corona crisis.

Significantly, in the total Test matches between India and England so far, Team India has the upper hand. A total of 60 Test matches have been played between the two teams so far in which India has won 13 Test matches in 19 and England. At the same time, 28 Test matches are being drawn. In the year 2016, when England’s team visited India, Team India defeated the British 4–0 and won the series. A total of 9 Test matches have been played between India and England at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai so far. Of these, Team India has won 5 while England has won 3 times while one match has been a draw.

Both teams will face each other after winning their last Test series. While India has to avenge the defeat in the Test series last year in England, it will be a tough challenge for England to beat India on their land. Recently England have defeated Sri Lanka in their 2 Test match series on their own soil. While Team India has been successful in winning the Test series in Australia. England defeated Sri Lanka 2–0 on their own soil and clinched the series. At the same time, India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy by defeating Australia 2–1 on the same ground.

This test series is the eye of the entire cricket world. Only after this test series will be decided which team will take on New Zealand in the final of ICC World Test Championship. This test series is important for India and England. Australia’s hopes on this series are also sticky. New Zealand are number two in the ICC Test Championship and have been confirmed in the final. But despite being at the top, the Indian team faces England’s challenge. Only after this test series, it will be decided which team of New Zealand will compete with India, England or Australia.

Playing eleven of both teams

Team India: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem.

England team: Joe Root (captain), Ollie Pope, Daniel Lawrence, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Rory Burns, Jose Butler (wicketkeeper), Joffra Archer, James Anderson, Dominic Bess and Jack Leach.


More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest news