- Advertisement -
Thursday, March 4, 2021

IND vs ENG: India and England start Test series from tomorrow, know why India is heavy in Chennai

Must read

new Delhi : The 4-Test series between India and England is going to start from tomorrow i.e. February 5. The first match of the Test series between India and England will be played at Chepak Stadium, Chennai. According to Indian time, this match will start from 9:30 am. While there will be a toss at 9:00 am. India is hosting an international cricket match after nearly 11 months due to the Corona crisis. This match is the 100th Test of the career of England captain Joe Root, then victory is necessary for India to reach the final of the World Test Championship.

In the 21st century, India is just two wins away from winning 100 Test matches. If the Indian team achieves two wins in this series, it will become the fourth team to do so. Let me tell you that India has played 216 Tests since January 1, 2000, in which it has won 98, lost 59, and 59 matches are drawn.

Both teams will face each other after winning their last Test series. While India has to avenge the defeat in the Test series last year in England, it will be a tough challenge for England to beat India on their land. Recently England have defeated Sri Lanka in their 2 Test match series on their own soil. While Team India has been successful in winning the Test series in Australia.

In the total Test matches between India and England so far, India have the upper hand. A total of 60 Test matches have been played between the two teams so far in which India have won 19 Test matches, while England has been successful in winning 13 Test matches. Apart from this, 28 Test matches are being drawn. In the year 2016, when England’s team visited India, Team India defeated the British 4–0 and won the series.

A total of 9 Test matches have been played between India and England at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai so far. Of these, Team India has won 5 while England has won 3 times while one match has been a draw.

This series is very important for both teams in terms of the final of the ICC World Test Championship. Not only this, Australia also has a keen eye on this series. New Zealand has already reached the finals of the ICC World Test Championship. New Zealand are number two in the ICC Test Championship and have cleared their way to the finals. But despite being at the top, the Indian team faces England’s challenge. Only after this test series, it will be decided which team of New Zealand will compete with India, England or Australia.

This is the schedule

The first Test between India and England will be played between 5 and 9 February and the second in Chennai from 13 to 17 February. While the third will be played in Ahmedabad from February 24 to 28 and the fourth from March 4 to 8. At the same time, the five-match T20 series will begin on March 12. While the three-match ODI series will be played from March 23 to March 28.

This is a squad

Indian team: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Lokesh Rahul, Jaspreet Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Siraj Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Beautiful, Akshar Patel.

England Team: Joe Root (captain), Jack Crowley, Dominic Sibley, Rory Burns, Ollie Pope, Dan Lawrence, Ben Stokes, Jose Butler (wicketkeeper), Ben Fox, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Joffra Archer, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Dominic Bess , Jack Leach, Allie Stone.


More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest news