Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Injured Temba Bavuma ruled out of England tour

Bavuma suffered an elbow injury during the tour of India.

South African white-ball captain Temba Bavuma will be ruled out of the upcoming tour of England with an elbow injury. Bavuma, who was recently injured on the tour of India, will take eight weeks to recover after which his comeback program will start. In his absence, the CSA selectors have appointed David Miller and Keshav Maharaj as the stand-in captains of the T20I and ODI teams respectively.

The selectors have offered 21-year-old Gerald Coetzee a T20I call-up for the first time, while former Kolpak player Riley Rossouw is making a return to the team for the first time since the 2016 T20 WC.

Meanwhile, pacer Kagiso Rabada has been rested from the ODI squad to manage his workload.

“The T20 format is a high priority for us at the moment as the T20 World Cup starts in Australia in a few months,” said Viktor Mpitsang, CSA’s coordinator of selectors. “We want to give the players the opportunity that we are interested in seeing and working out the best combinations, as well as trying to balance our desire to maintain enough consistency within the set-up that the players work as a team. We are used to playing together. When they reach Australia for the World Cup. This series will go a long way in helping us achieve all those objectives.

Read Also:  Virat Kohli shines on day 3 of India vs Leicestershire tour game. cricket news

“While the ODI series is not for Super League points, the 50-over format is of vital importance as we look forward to the 2023 ICC World Cup in India. Tried combinations and the performance we put in went a long way in building us up.” Will do till that tournament.”

South Africa’s nearly two-month-long tour of the UK will conclude with a three-match Test series for which the squad will include Rabada, Marco Janssen, Aiden Markram and others who missed the final assignment against Bangladesh. There is regular return. Due to scheduling conflict with IPL 2022. The tour will begin with the first ODI at Chester Le Street on 19 July.

Read Also:  Virtual summit between Prime Minister Modi and British PM Johnson today, these things will be discussed

ODI Team:

Keshav Maharaj (Captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendrix, Marco Jensen, Henrik Klaasen, Janman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwayne Pretorius, Enrique Nortje, Tabrez Shamsi, Rasi van der Dussen, Lizad Williams , Ate Zondo, Kyle Wren.

T20 Team:

David Miller (Captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendrix, Henrik Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Enrique Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan de Rossouw, Rassi van Rossi.

Test Squad:

Dean Elgar (Captain), Sarel Ervi, Marco Jensen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Enrique Nortje, Duane Olivier, Keegan Peterson, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Cipmala, Rassi van der Dussen, Kyle Veren, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Sturman

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -