Sunday, June 13, 2021

International and domestic travelers will not get entry without e-pass in this state

Chennai: The Tamil Nadu government has made e-pass mandatory for foreign and domestic travelers to allow entry from other states of the country except Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and neighboring Puducherry Union Territory.

The move comes due to a spurt in corona virus cases in states such as Maharashtra and Kerala. Tamil Nadu is also seeing an increase in the number of new infections in the last few days. In view of this, a government order was recently issued by the Department of Health and Family Welfare.

The government allows travelers visiting the state after the e-pass to find out their contacts if they were found to be Corona positive during their stay in Tamil Nadu.

From March 4, an auto e-pass is mandatory for all international and domestic passengers from other states and union territories. However, people in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry were exempted from this.

Last year, in view of the COVID-19 epidemic, the Tamil Nadu government made e-pass mandatory only for inter-district and inter-state travelers. However the norms were later relaxed.

State Health Secretary J Radhakrishnan had recently expressed concern about not wearing masks and laxity of COVID-19 loopholes among people after attending weddings or funerals.

On Sunday, Tamil Nadu reported 567 new cases, bringing the total number of cases in the state to 8.55 lakh.


Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply