Monday, December 11, 2023

James, champion of Sao Paulo in the Brazilian Cup

This Sunday, Sao Paulo won the first title in the history of the Brazilian Cup. His best participation was in 2000 with a runner-up finish. On this occasion and in front of its people, the Tricolor got revenge by becoming the champion against Flamengo. The match was 1-1, but 0-1 in the first leg in Rio decided the grand final in their favor.

James Rodríguez, one of the major reinforcements of Sao Paulo in the last market, did not play in Morumbi, he remained on the substitute bench throughout the game. The 5 players who played the whole game were Diego Costa, Wellington, Gabriel Neves, Michel Araujo and Luciano. The Colombian was not an option for coach Dorival Junior.

Read Also:  Totti praised Chucky Lozano after winning the Serie A Scudetto

This is James’ first title in Brazilian football, although there are no extra minutes in the competition. He was on the bench for three games: in the second leg semi-final against Corinthians and in the two finals against Flamengo. In Brasileirao he already has experience, he played 4 games, 3 of them as a starter.

The Colombian ’10’ has reached 25 titles in his career, he has not won one since leaving Real Madrid in 2020. He has scored blanks at Everton, Al Rayyan and Olympiacos. In Madrid he won the most, there he won 9 trophies, 2 of them from the UEFA Champions League.

Read Also:  Soon I will talk about what happened to Salah, Ramos, De Bruyne...

Sao Paulo’s road to the Brazil Cup

Sao Paulo entered the third round of the Brazilian Cup where they eliminated Itauno. In the round of 16 they took Sport Recife on penalties, in the quarterfinals against Palmeiras and in the semifinals against Corinthians. In this 1-1 final in Morumbi, the goals came from Bruno Henrique for Flamengo and Rodrigo Nestor for James’ team.

Sao Paulo’s record continues to improve with the achievement of this 2023 Brazil Cup. Among the most famous titles of the São Paulo club are 6 Brasileiraos, 3 Libertadores Cups, 2 Intercontinental Cups, 1 Club World Cup, and many others.


Read Also:  Mexico has fallen in the FIFA Ranking and remains below the United States

Diego Costa (8′, Robert Arboleda), Luiz Araújo (63′, Thiago Maia), Wellington (64′, Caio Paulista), Gabriel Neves (65′, Alisson), Gabriel Barbosa (73′, Pedro), Michel Araújo (79′, Rodrigo Nestor), Luciano (79′, Wellington Rato), Victor Hugo (80′, Gerson), Everton Ribeiro (80′, Giorgian de Arrascaeta)


0-1, 43′: Bruno Henrique1-1, 49′: Rodrigo Nestor Bertalia


Referee: Braulio da Silva Machado
Referee VAR: Wagner Reway, Cleriston Clay Barreto Rios
Alisson (16′, Yellow) Pablo Maia (24′, Yellow) Refine (25′, Yellow) Leo Pereira (30′, Yellow) Gabriel Neves (94′, Yellow) Fabricio Bruno (96′, Yellow) Gabriel Neves (98′, Red)

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news