Saturday, June 10, 2023

Jolanda Neff returns to top on Mont-Sainte-Anne short track

Switzerland’s Jolanda Neff wins the 2022 Mont-Sainte-Anne short track after a painful sprint between herself, Alessandra Keller and Gwendolyn Gibson.

To the well-known losses of Loana Lecomte, Pauline Ferrand Prevot and Evie Richards, we had to add the last-minute return of Jenny Riswedes due to a sore throat. Something that predicts an even more open race this season than I’m used to.

Women’s start of the XCC World Cup Mont-Sainte-Anne 2022

The first surprise of the short track was given by Frenchman Lena Gerault, who had placed herself in first place from the same start and was trying to open a gap on lap 1 out of a total of 8.

Lena Gerault lap 1. tried to break the race from

But it didn’t take long for Australia’s Rebecca McConnell to jump in from behind to catch up with Geralt and regroup the group of favorites at the top of the race.

Favorites regrouped in the middle of the race

McConnell had lost the lead in the general classification in snowshoe a week earlier and was showing in Canada that his only goal was to regain it. But Swiss Alessandra Keller, the current leader, was not going to make it easy for her and with 2 laps left, the two alternated in first place, followed by a large number of favorites such as Gwendolyn Gibson, Jolanda Neff, Kate Courtney or Anne. Terpstra.

Attacks took two laps to chase each other

The attacks didn’t stop when the last lap started, and after a powerful change of pace by Alessandra Keller, Jolanda Neff was able to react to her compatriot with a final overtake that left her in first place a few meters from the finish line. Gave. Everything happened in a painful and long haul.

Jolanda Neff won the 2022 Mont-Sainte-Anne XCC World Cup.

Gwendolyn Gibson took second and Alessandra Keller closed the podium.

Women’s results Mont-Sainte-Anne XCC World Cup 2022

  1. NEFF Jolanda (Trek Factory Racing XC)
  2. Gibson Gwendolyn (Narco Factory Team)
  3. Keller Alessandra (THÖMUS MAXON)
  4. TERPSTRA ANNE (Ghost Factory Racing)
  5. Boh Caroline (Ghost Factory Racing)
  6. Courtney Cate (Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team)
  7. McConnell Rebecca (Primefloor Mondraker Genuine)
  8. Lena Gerault (KTM Vittoria Team)
  9. LÍIV Parent (KMC – ORBEA)
  10. Berta Martina (Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team)

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here