Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Max bonus for Cees, Alvarez and Manoh

NEW YORK ( Associated Press) – Chicago White Sox right-handed pitcher Dylan Seis will receive $2,457,426, the most money in a new $50 million purse aimed at players who cannot yet resort to arbitration.

Jordan Alvarez, the designated hitter for the Houston Astros, is second with $2,381,143, according to data compiled by Major League Baseball and the players’ union, which is custodial under the terms of an agreement reached in March to end the strike.

Toronto right-hander Alec Manoh is third with $2,191,023.

Eleven players will receive $1 million or more.

Arizona right-hander Zack Gallen will earn 1,670,875, followed by Seattle center fielder Julio Rodriguez with 1,550,850; Atlanta outfielder Michael Harris II with 1,361,435; closer Emmanuel Claes from Cleveland with 1,354,962, Venezuelan second baseman Andres Jimenez with 1,308,805; Baltimore catcher Adele Rutsman with 1,177,555; Astros outfielder Kyle Tucker, with 1,146,555; and Braves right-hander Spencer Strider, with 1,077,294.

A total of 100 players will receive payments under the plan, aimed at getting more money for players without enough service time to go into salary arbitration. That time was set at 2 years and 116 days in the majors by 2022.

Cees earned a salary of $750,000 this year, Alvarez $764,600, Manoh $706,200, Galen $745,600 and Rodriguez $700,000, the lowest in the majors.

Under the March agreement, an eligible player receives $2.5 million for winning the MVP or Cy Young Trophy; 1.75 million to finish second in the vote; $1.5 million for third place, plus $1 million for fourth, fifth, or first-team All-MLB selections.

The Rookie of the Year award receives $750,000, second place in the voting or the second best team selection receives $500,000.

Ideal teams are defined by votes from fans, journalists from print and electronic media, retired players and managers.

A player can receive bonuses for one achievement each year, only the highest amount can be received. The rest of the money is allocated by a formula related to the complex Win Over Replacement (WAR) statistic.

Cease was second in AL Cy Young voting, with Alvarez Young third in the Circuit MVP category. Manoh was in third place for the AL Cy Young Award.

Houston shortstop Jeremy Pena will receive $417,247. He won the ALCS and World Series MVP awards for the Astros, which were not listed in the bonus pool.

The smallest amounts go to San Diego outfielder Trent Grisham ($201,700) and Oakland left-handed pitcher Cole Irvin ($201,978).

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Deskhttps://nationworldnews.com
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news