Mexico wins its first diving medal at the Doha World Cup

Mexico wins its first diving medal at the Doha World Cup

Doha –

Gabriela Agundez, Aranza Vazquez, Zaheer Ocampo and Randall Villars won silver in the mixed decorative diving event on Friday to give Mexico its first medal at the World Swimming Championships.

Britain’s Thomas Daly, Scarlett Mew, Daniel Goodfellow and Andrea Spendolini won the gold medal with a total of 421.65. Mexicans added 412.80.

The Australian quartet were in third place, but far away, with 385.35 points in the test in which 12 nations participated.

In mixed diving, pairs of men and women participate in both 10-metre and three-metre platforms.

The trials are not Olympic and are only part of the World Championships.

Read Also:  Apple Releases Public Beta Program for iOS 16 and iPadOS 16

“I’m happy with the result, it’s my second world medal and it’s very exciting,” said Agundez, who added his second world medal in the event. “This exam is different from all others, where everyone has to do their own work. “It was working as a team to produce a good result for Mexico.”

Agundez, one of the most talented divers in the Mexican delegation, is the current Pan American champion in the 10 meters and was fourth in the same event at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The 21-year-old Villars also won her second world silver medal in the event. The second one was in Fukuoka, Japan only last year.

Read Also:  They Arrest a Visitor at Disney World with a Firearm and Dozens of Bullets

In Doha, Mexico will be looking to back up their good performance at the last World Cup where they finished third in the medal table, ahead of only China and Australia.

“I’m going to focus on the remaining competitions, which is personal and synchronized with Elle Orozco, where we are looking for an Olympic spot, very happy, motivated and that’s what I miss,” Agundez concluded. Focused on that.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here