Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Mike Fratello named Chuck Daly Achievement Award winner

SAN FRANCISCO ( Associated Press) — Mike Fratello won everything from big games to Emmy awards. He also won the respect of his peers.

Fratello was announced on Sunday as the recipient of the Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the National Basketball Coaches Association. He became the 17th winner of the award, which was introduced in 2009.

Fratello has been involved in the NBA in some capacity – assistant coach, head coach or broadcaster – since the late 1970s. He spent parts of 17 seasons as a head coach in Atlanta, Cleveland, and Memphis, winning 667 regular-season games and 20 playoff appearances, as well as winning an Emmy as the Best On-Camera Sports Analyst in New York in 2015 .

“Chuck Daly was a special person and a special coach – and it’s a special award,” Fratello said. “This means a lot to me because Chuck was a mentor, close friend and a trusted confidant throughout my NBA coaching career and beyond. It is an honor to be recognized by my teammates, whom I respect and admire. “

Fratello will be formally presented with the award by NBCA President Rick Carlisle of the Indiana Pacers prior to Game 2 of the NBA Finals in San Francisco.

Fratello was the NBA’s Coach of the Year with the Hawks in the 1985–86 season, and has also been completed internationally. He is the previous coach of the Ukraine national team and most recently coached USA Basketball in qualifying games, securing a berth in the FIBA ​​AmeriCup tournament to be held in September.

“I wanted to help USA go ahead and qualify for the next thing,” Fratello said after those qualifying wins. “The fact that we were able to do that was very beneficial to me. I like seeing youngsters together, making a team, working together, playing defense together, passing the ball together and then achieving success. It’s nice to see.”

The NBCA came up with the Daily Award to honor those who have “set a standard for NBA basketball’s integrity, competitive excellence, and tireless promotion.”

Past recipients are Larry Brown (2021), Dale Harris (2020), Frank Layden (2019), Doug Mo (2018), Al Atles and Hubby Brown (2017), Casey Jones and Jerry Sloan (2016), Dick Motta (2015) . ), Bernie Bickerstaff (2014), Bill Fitch (2013), Pat Riley (2012), Lenny Wilkens (2011), Jack Ramsay and Tex Winters (2010), and Tommy Heinsohn (2009).


More Associated Press NBA: and

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news