New York – Some residents of New York State will see an increase in the minimum wage in a matter of weeks.
That’s because the minimum wage in upstate counties will increase by $15 starting Dec. 31, Gov. Cathy Hochul announced Wednesday. For their part, workers outside New York City, Long Island and Westchester County will see an increase from $13.20 to $14.20 an hour following a statutorily required economic analysis conducted by the New York State Budget Department.
In addition, the minimum wage for home care aides has also increased in upstate New York counties by $1.00 to $16.20 an hour, effective October 1, 2022.
Governor Hochul said, “With inflation and the national labor shortage affecting our state’s economy, my team is doing everything possible to put money in New Yorkers’ pockets and address the rising cost of living. ” “Fair and competitive wages are essential to helping families prosper and attracting the best talent in our state, and our administration is committed to using all the tools at our disposal to advance New York’s economy. “
Commissioner Roberta Reardon issued an order to increase the minimum wage rate in New York City, Long Island and counties outside Westchester following a statutorily required economic analysis conducted by the New York State Division of Budget.
An estimated 200,000 New Yorkers in these upstate counties will benefit from this wage increase, of whom 44% are full-time employees and nearly 25% support children under the age of 18. In addition, this increase will help close the gender pay gap, providing greater financial stability for approximately 110,000 women.
The minimum wage increase in New York State is calculated based on where a person works and their industry. Workers in New York City, Long Island and Westchester County currently earn the minimum wage of $15 an hour. The increase for the rest of the state is based on a percentage increase determined by the Director of the Budget Division in consultation with the Department of Labor after an annual review of the state’s economy and labor market.
To learn more about the minimum wage for home care aides, read the home care aide fact sheet here.
Employees who are not being paid what they are entitled to under New York State minimum wage laws should report them to the NYSDOL Division of Labor Standards by calling 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469 -7365) It should be reported.
To help businesses and employees become informed about the minimum wage, the New York State Department of Labor has several resources available, including a minimum wage lookup tool on its website.