- Advertisement -
Friday, March 5, 2021

Nuclear Ban Treaty: 9 countries including India ban the first treaty to ban nuclear weapons

Must read

Nuclear Ban Treaty: The first ever treaty to ban nuclear weapons (Nuclear Ban Treaty) has come into force from Friday. It is being described as a historic step because under it, steps will be taken to rid the world of the most lethal weapons. However, countries armed with nuclear weapons have strongly opposed it.

The nuclear weapons prohibition treaty has now become part of international law. Along with this, a decades-long campaign to prevent the recurrence of the US nuclear bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki cities of Japan in 1945 in the last phase of the second world war seems to be successful. All countries will not have to keep nuclear weapons under the treaty, which is a little difficult, but not impossible to be possible in today’s global environment.

More than 120 countries approved

The treaty was ratified by the United Nations General Assembly in July 2017 and more than 120 countries ratified it. But the US, Russia, Britain, China, France, India, Pakistan, North Korea and Israel have never supported the treaty nor 30 nations in the nine countries armed with or likely to have it. The NATO alliance has supported it. Even Japan, the only country in the world that has suffered the horrors of nuclear attack, has not supported this treaty.

61 countries ratified the treaty

Beatrice Finn, executive director of the international campaign to eradicate nuclear weapons, described it as a historic day for international law, the United Nations and the victims of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The treaty received its 50th approval on 24 October 2020 and came into effect from 22 January. Finn said on Thursday that 61 countries have ratified the treaty and another ratification is expected on Friday. With this, nuclear weapons will be banned in all these countries through international law from Friday.

More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest news