Sunday, January 29, 2023

Ohtani Finalist for MVP, SHIELD Finalist 3 for Manager of the Year

NEW YORK (AP) — Los Angeles Angels two-way sensation Shohei Ohtani is a finalist for the American League MVP in a poll by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The BBWAA revealed the finalists for the AL and NL MVP, Cy Young Awards, Rookies of the Year and Managers of the Year on Monday night. The winners – decided on ballots sent out at the end of the regular season – will be revealed next week.

Ohtani is in the last three of the AL voting along with two Toronto players, Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Marcus Semien.

Ohtani, 27, hit .257 with 46 homers, 100 RBIs and a .965 OPS as the Angels’ full-time designated hitter, while also starting 9-2 on the mound with a 3.18 ERA in 23. This was his first full season in both roles – he won Rookie of the Year in 2018 even after an elbow injury closed him as a pitcher after 10 starts.

Ex-St. Louis Cardinals captain Mike Schildt was nominated for NL Manager of the Year less than a month after he was fired. The other finalists are Craig Consul of Milwaukee and Gabe Kapler of San Francisco.

The Cardinals won 17 games in a row and made the postseason for the third time in four years under Scheldt, but the 2018 Manager of the Year was slashed because of what general manager John Mozeliac called “philosophical differences”. Oliver Marmol was promoted from bench coach to replace Scheldt.

The NL MVP race is down to Philadelphia’s Bryce Harper, Washington’s Juan Soto, and San Diego’s Fernando Tatis Jr. Harper, the only former MVP of that trio who earned honors with the Nationals in 2015.

Max Schaezer is a finalist for the fourth Cy Young Award after splitting the season between the Nationals and the Dodgers, but all other finalists will be first-time winners.

Milwaukee’s Corbin Burns and Philadelphia’s Zack Wheeler are finalists in the NL, while AL honors went to Yankees’ Gerrit Cole, White Sox’s Lance Lynn and Blue Jays’ Robbie Ray, now a free agent.

Post-season star Randy Arozerena and Tampa Bay Rays teammate wanderer Franco are finalists for the AL Rookie of the Year along with Astros right-hander Luis Garcia. Franco appeared in just 70 games, but also attracted attention after reaching base in 43 consecutive games, matching Frank Robinson’s record for longest run by a player 20 or younger since 1956.

Cardinals outfielder Dylan Carlson, Reds second baseman Jonathan India and Marlins left-hander Trevor Rogers are the finalists for the NL Rookie of the Year.


More AP MLB: and


Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news