Friday, September 30, 2022

Oscar Tshebwe of Kentucky won the John R. Wooden Award Won

LOS ANGELES ( Associated Press) — Oscar Tshibwe of Kentucky named the male college basketball player of the year the John R. Wooden Award.

Tuesday’s announcement was made on ESPN’s “Sports Center” from the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Tshiebwe led the country with a total of 515 rebounds and 15.1 rebounds per game. The 6-foot-9 center had the most rebounds in a season since 1973 and the highest per game average since 1980. Kentucky was defeated by the St. Peters in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Tshiebwe, who is from the Congo, is the second Kentucky player to win the award, joining Anthony Davis in 2012. Tshiebwe also received Player of the Year honors from the Associated Press, the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the. Sporting News and US Basketball Writers Association.

The other finalists were national champion Ochai Agbaji of Kansas, Johnny Davis of Wisconsin, Keegan Murray of Iowa and Drew Timme of Gonzaga.

Aaliyah Boston wins Women’s Wood award with national champion South Carolina on Monday. The 6-foot-5 forward averaged 16.8 points and had a Southeastern Conference record of 27 straight double-doubles.

Tshibwe and Boston are invited to Los Angeles for Friday’s 46th Annual Presentation.

Voting took place March 14–21 by a national panel of voters covering the game and former winners during the opening round of the NCAA Tournament.


More Associated Press College Basketball: and and

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -