Sunday, October 1, 2023

Pericos defeated Algodoneros in six games to win the King Series

Puebla recovered from a 2-0 opening deficit to win its final four games and claim its first title since 2016

The Pericos de Puebla are once again champions of the Serie del Rey.

The South Zone champions came from behind in the series after an 0-2 start against Algodoneros de Unión Laguna, including a 14-3 loss in the second game.

Puebla bounced back by winning all three home games at the Hermanos Serdán Stadium and returned to Torreón with a 3-2 series lead.

The Pericos de Puebla recovered from a 0-2 start to win the Serie del Rey in six games.Imago7

And Game 6 of the King’s Series was not without drama after Unión Laguna took a 4-2 lead in the ninth inning, in which the Pericos mounted a three-run rally to clinch the victory and the championship.

This is the second Serie del Rey title for Puebla, which also won in six games against the Toros de Tijuana in 2016, and the fourth championship in its history, in addition to those of 1963 and 1979.

Unión Laguna’s championship drought will continue for another year, as they have not won since 1950 and have suffered six finals series defeats to date.

En route to the title, the Pericos lost in the first round to Águila de Veracruz (4-3), but then eliminated the Diablos Rojos del México (4-2) in the Zonal Series and defeated the Leones de Yucatán in the Southern Zone Championship Series.

Unión Laguna, for its part, defeated the Sultanes de Monterrey (4-3) in the first round, then eliminated the Toros de Tijuana (4-1) in the Zonal Series and finally defeated the Tecolotes de los Dos Laredos in the Northern Zone Championship Series.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news