Monday, May 29, 2023

Pumas 7 were crowned champions in London and won their third title of the year

The Argentine rugby sevens team, Los Pumas ‘7, were crowned champions after defeating their pair from the Fiji Islands in the final on the eleventh and final leg of the discipline’s world circuit, held in the city of London, England, this afternoon. up 35-14

As such, the Albiceleste representative completed a very good season on the circuit, having previously won tournaments in Hamilton (New Zealand) and Vancouver (Canada).

The Argentine team, led by Santiago Gómez Cora, who were initially trailing, took advantage of the Fijian player’s dismissal and won 14–7 in a clear first half, with tries from German Schulz and Marcos Moneta.

In the second half, the Albiceleste team consolidated their victory with a good job from the whole team and after a quick 14–14 draw by Fiji, they won 28–14 with two tries by Rodrigo Isgro after two runs by Marcos Moneta. got away from

The Pumas 7 controlled the tempo until the end of the game, and with a new try by Moneta (100th of his career), they made the final score 35–14.

The starting line-up consisted of German Schulz, Santiago Álvarez (C), Luciano González, Rodrigo Isgro, Santiago Vera Feld, Marcos Moneta and Joaquin Pellandini. Then came Alejo Lavayan and Agustín Fraga.

Pumas ‘7 defeated Japan (43–12) and the Fiji Islands (40–12) in the qualifying stage, but then lost to Ireland (12–14) and reached the quarter-finals after beating Ireland 28–14. And they reached the final (10-7) defeating Samoa

Today was the sixth final to which the Albiceleste team reached at the end of the official season.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here