Saturday, March 25, 2023

South America announced its candidacy for the 2030 World Cup

efeReading: 5 min.

World Cup 2030: Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay announce their joint candidature

Four South American countries have launched candidatures for the 2030 World Cup, the year that will mark the centenary of the first World Cup, Uruguay 1930.

South America on Tuesday claimed the importance of “players who adorn the world of football” in defense of its candidacy to host the 2030 World Cup, during a public ceremony following the celebration in Argentina of the first assembly of the Juntos 2030 corporation.

“We have brought out hundreds of players who have graced the world of football and that special touch that only comes from South America and not from any other region.” Chile’s sports minister, Alexandra Benado, revealed this Tuesday during a presentation by officials following a private meeting of the entity seeking to promote and develop candidates.

In addition to Benado, the event was attended by Argentina’s Minister of Tourism and Sports, Matias Lammens; Sebastian Bauza, National Secretary of Sport of Uruguay; and his Paraguayan counterpart, Diego Galliano Harrison, along with the president of the Confederation of South American Football (CONMEBOL), Alejandro Dominguez, and the president of the Argentine Football Association (AFA), Claudio Tapia.

Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Paraguay have grouped themselves to bid as hosts for the 2030 World Cup.@afa

On the occasion of the centenary of the first World Cup held on Uruguayan soil in 1930, all officials appealed to history to defend the South American candidacy, made up of Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile.

“In this event we are the first world champion and the last”Lammens pointed to the titles won by Celeste in 1930 and by Albiseleste in 2022.

Tapia thanked the CONMEBOL leader for organizing the Copa América in 2021 in the context of a pandemic, because, in his opinion, if it had not been played, the South American teams would not have “competition” to face the World Cup. “Doesn’t happen. , which ended with a victory for Argentina.

For his part, Bauza insisted on the idea that FIFA should “Celebrate the World Cup where the world was born” AND THAT THIS APPOINTMENT SHALL BE 2030 “Different from previous years”because it should be a world “sustainable”,

The idea of ​​social responsibility and sustainability was also highlighted by the Chilean minister, who said that the South American candidate would be a “serious and serious” candidate.

Tapia: “The opening match will be played in Argentina and the final in Uruguay”

In the event of the 2030 World Cup being held in South America, Claudio Tapia explained at a press conference where the first and last matches of the World Cup would be played.

Subsequently, Argentine champions from 1978 and 1986, such as Ubaldo Matildo Filol, Oscar Ruggeri, Omar Larosa, Ricardo Bocchini and Oscar Garay, as well as part of the coaching staff of the 2022 champion team, such as Pablo Aimar and Roberto Ayala, posed “2030 Next to the three World Cups treasured by the host country of this gathering in defense of the motto “Together”.

Of the 22 World Cups ever played, five have been held in South America: Uruguay 1930, Brazil 1950, Chile 1962, Argentina 1978 and Brazil 2014.

Of those 22 appointments, the victory on ten occasions was for a team from this region: Uruguay (1930 and 1950), Argentina (1978, 1986 and 2022) and Brazil (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002).

On August 2, 2022, at Montevideo’s Centenario Stadium, the scene of the first World Cup final, Dominguez presented the so-called “Mundial Centenario” with four nations’ sporting highlights as a tribute to the 1930 event.

Subsequently, in November, the Juntos 2030 Corporation was launched in Santiago de Chile to promote and develop the candidacy.

At the moment, the South American bid competes with Spain and Portugal, countries that recently invited Ukraine to join a project that UEFA supports.

In addition, Greece, Egypt and Saudi Arabia have shown interest in hosting the World Cup, although candidatures have not been formalized.

FIFA should make its decision on the venue of the known 2030 World Cup at the 2024 congress.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news