Sunday, June 4, 2023

Spanish Road Championships: Laura Luengo and Yago Rojo, half marathon champions

Laura Luengo and Yago Rojo they were declared Spanish Half Marathon Champion this sunday morning Santander in the second test of Spanish Road Championship, for both, disciples of Luismi Martin Berlangas why juan del campo, was the first national gold in his sports career. In Luengo’s case, also pre-selection for Road World Championship will be held in Riga on 30 September The RFEA won by stopping the clock at 1:11:12 on 1 October and meeting the competitiveness criteria of the Sports Directorate.

A month after climbing the podium to third place in the 10 km Nationals, Luengo made a definite leap in quality in Santander. Against a list of rivals that included some of the best current Spanish marathon runners (and in history), The Extremaduran starred in an outstanding career taking command Starting from the start and not giving a chance to any of her rivals, including Laura Mendez, Fatima Ouhaddu, Lidia Campo and Meritaxel Soler, she led the race in that order.

Despite a stomachache in the last four kilometers of the race, Luengo continued his game and not only won, but also beat his personal best by over a minute. With 1:11:12, she finished 14th in Spain in the half marathon ever. Behind her, Laura Mendez crossed the finish line in second place with a time of 1:11:58, while Fatima Ouhaddo rounded out the podium with a time of 1:12:17.

In addition, Luengo Riding Pinto Sion-Pampin to his first national team title. The Madrid club joined Extremaduran, Lucia Morales and Tamara Perez with a time of 3:47:57. Avinent Manresa won collective silver with Meritxell Solar, Mireia Guarner and Mercé Guerra (3:51:00); and Bilbao Athletics, bronze with Azucena Díaz, Gema Martín and Miren Aspiazu (3:58:27).

In the men’s race, Yago Rojo goes head-to-head against Housme Benabbo After sharing national leadership for practically the entire caste. Initially, Rojo tried to go with Moroccan Abderrahman Eferdi and Kenyan Peter Kariuki, but soon grouped with Benabou and played with him for the title.

During the test, both were taking up to five kilometers in the absence of red He saw that his opponent was retreating a few meters and charged forward decisively… and there was no response from Benabbu. Finally, Yago Rojo took his first career title with a record of 1:03:16, followed by Benabbu with 1:03:28 and Jorge González with 1:03:44, making up an entirely Extremaduran podium. victory in the race was equal Afardi (who was competing in the National Club Championship) clocked 1:01:28, followed by Kariuki with 1:03:10.

By Clubs, very close win for Bikila together after three years Benabbou, Ibrahim Chakir and Abdenasser Oukhelfen (3:14:45), ahead of Clínica Menorca CAUG (3:16:01 with Jorge Gonzalez, David Bascuñana and Francisco Javier Martinez) and Vicky Foods Athletics (3:16:12 Pablo Sanchez with), Jesus Olmos and Javier Garcia).

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here