Thursday, December 2, 2021

Sri Lanka wins the toss to qualify against Bangladesh

SHARA, United Arab Emirates (NWN) – Former T20 World Cup champion Sri Lanka won the toss and field selection in their first Super 12 match against Bangladesh on Sunday.

The surprise match in Group 1 between the two Asian countries was made possible after Bangladesh’s shocking defeat to Scotland in the qualifiers.

Sri Lanka, which finished as a leader in the Group A qualifiers, was forced to leave out spinner Mahish Tikshan, who raised his side load during the last qualifying game against the Netherlands. He was replaced by fast bowler Binura Fernando.

After being defeated by Scotland, Bangladesh came together with two brilliant performances by the versatile Shakib Al Hassan against Papua New Guinea and a co-host with Oman.

Read Also:  German parties rally supporters ahead of Sunday's election

Fast bowler Taskin Ahmed did not participate in Game XI as Bangladesh added an extra spinner to Nasum Ahmed for Sharjah’s slow wicket.

England and Australia, which won their first matches on Saturday against the West Indies and South Africa respectively, are in Group 1.



Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfikur Rahim, Mahmudullah (captain), Afif Hossein, Nurul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Sayfuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Charit Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Vanindu Hasaranga, Dushmanta Chamer, Lahiru Kumar, Binura Fernando.


More NWN Cricket: and

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -