Monday, August 8, 2022

The first phase of campaigning in Bengal and Assam will come to an end today, voting on 30 seats of Bengal and 47 seats of Assam on March 27

Raman Jha, New Delhi: Today is the last day of campaigning for the first phase of assembly elections in West Bengal and Assam. The campaigning for the first phase of elections will end after 5 pm today. The first phase of voting will take place on March 27 in West Bengal and Assam. Voting will be held on 30 seats in Bengal and 47 seats in Assam on Saturday. Let us tell you that Assembly elections are being held in eight phases in West Bengal and three phases in Assam. While the results will be announced on May 2. Today, on the last day of the election campaign, the BJP, TMC, all parties will campaign with full force.

8 phase voting in Bengal

Significantly, in the first phase of 294 out of 294 seats in West Bengal, votes will be cast on March 27. On April 1 in 30 seats in the second phase, on 31 April in the third phase, on 6 April, in the fourth phase 44 seats on 10 April, in the fifth phase 45 seats on 17 April, in the sixth phase 43 seats on 22 April, In the seventh phase, votes will be cast in 36 seats on 26 April and in the eighth phase on 35 April on 29 April. While the votes will be counted on 2 May. West Bengal had 77,413 election centers in 2016, now 1,01,916 election centers have been set up here.

Read Also:  Belarus Grants Refugee Status To Fleeing Capitol Rioter

Main contest between TMC and BJP

Let me tell you that the main contest in the West Bengal elections is being considered between the Trinamool Congress and the BJP. Bengal currently has a Trinamool Congress government and Mamata Banerjee is the Chief Minister. In the last election, Mamata’s TMC won the maximum 211 seats, Congress 44, 26 left and BJP won only three seats. While others had won ten seats. It needs 148 seats for majority.

Main fight between BJP and Congress

On March 27, elections will be held for 47 assembly seats from 12 districts of Assam. Out of 47 seats, 5 are tribal seats. Out of the 47 seats to be voted on in the first round on Saturday, 42 seats are from 11 districts of Upper Assam while 5 seats are from the area in Central Assam. In the first phase, 269 candidates are in the fray for the Assam Assembly elections.

In the first phase of Assam, many stalwarts of BJP and Congress leaders are at stake. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal (Majuli), Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami (Jorhat), Ministers Ranjit Dutta (Behali) and Sanjay Kishan (Tinsukia) are in the fray. Similar NDA partners and Assam Republic Council leader and ministers Atul Bora (Bokakhat) and Keshav Mahant (Kaliabor) are also in the fray. At the same time, the fate of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee President Ripun Bora (Gohpur), Congress Legislature Party leader Devvrat Saikia (Nazira) and Congress Secretary Bhupen Bora (Bihpuria) are also to be decided in the first phase.

Read Also:  Equality Concerns Rise, But Few Say Voting in US Is Too Hard

Let me tell you that in the 2016 elections, no party got a clear majority in Assam with 126 assembly seats. The state has BJP- 61 Congress- 25, Assam Gana Parishad- 14, AIUDF- 13 Bodoland People’s Front- 12 and one independent member. The BJP formed the government with the support of the Assam Gana Parishad, Bodoland People’s Front and Independent MLA.

Elections will be held in 3 phases in Assam

Significantly, the voting for the 126-member assembly in Assam will be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6. While the votes will be counted on 2 May. Assam had 24,890 election centers in the 2016 assembly elections, the number of election centers in 2021 would be 33,530.


Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -