Wednesday, September 28, 2022

The Moon will turn red tonight in a surprising ‘flower eclipse’. see here how to watch

The Moon is about to pass through Earth’s shadow today (May 16), turning completely red in some places as sunlight refracts like a prism around the Moon and shines on the Moon’s surface. So you won’t want to miss the first of only two lunar eclipses in 2022.

In areas with total visibility over the Americas, Antarctica, Europe, Africa and the eastern Pacific, the major event officially begins with a partial eclipse Sunday (May 15) at 10:28 p.m. EDT (0228 UTC on Monday, May 16) . TimeandDate.com. You’ll see the Blood Moon peak around 12:11 a.m. EDT (0411 UTC), with the eclipse ending at 1:55 a.m. EDT (0555 UTC).

A penumbral eclipse, which occurs when the Moon passes the edge of Earth’s shadow, will begin and end about an hour after a partial eclipse.

i3VqqybLzqqFRXxVAMSsim 970 80Visibility map for the May 15, 2022 eclipse. (NASA’s Scientific Visualization Studio)

You can watch the event live in New Zealand, Eastern Europe and the Middle East. In these regions, the Moon will not be completely black or red, but you should see shadows on its surface under the right conditions.

If you’re lucky enough to live under an eclipse path, here are some tips for making the most of the event.

Try to go outside at least 20 minutes before watching the scene, so you can adjust to the dark conditions. If possible, staying away from bright light will help.

If you want to bring binoculars, binoculars or cameras, try to set them up a few hours earlier so the equipment doesn’t get dewy. It’s good to practice using the equipment before the eclipse so that you are ready for the big moment.

6QfDxmVKMZ5qjtjAKPdLZm 970 80Major Stages of Super Flower Blood Moon. (NASA)

After that, enjoying the event is as simple as dressing for the circumstances and watching the moon for as long as you want. Unlike a solar eclipse, you don’t need to worry about eye protection equipment, and the event will also last much longer.

If the eclipse is not visible in your area, if the weather conditions are bad or you can’t go outside otherwise, there is an option for people with strong internet connections to watch the lunar eclipse via a live broadcast. We know of at least three places where you can see this phenomenon.

The YouTube broadcast of NASA Science Live begins May 15 at 9:32 pm (0132 UTC May 16). The broadcast will explain how the eclipse works, NASA’s Artemis moon-landing program for moon research and astronauts.

Two other YouTube webcasts are scheduled to begin at half-hour intervals: Slooh starting at 9:30 p.m. EDT (May 16 0130 GMT), and TimeandDate.com at 10 p.m. EDT May 15 (0200 GMT May 16) .

Note that before switching to the members-only Discord channel, Slooh will only show the totality phase, while TimeandDate.com plans to show the full program if conditions allow.

The second (and final) lunar eclipse this year will take place on November 8, 2022. It will be at least partially visible from Asia, Australia, North America, parts of northern and eastern Europe, the Arctic, and most of South America. There are more eclipses in the future, too, at LiveScience’s companion website SPACE.com.

This article was originally published by Live Science. Read the original article here.

,

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Deskhttps://nationworldnews.com
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news
- Advertisement -