The Namibian team announced for the World Cup to be held in South Africa

Profile picture

Namibia, who won the Africa Qualifier and earned a place in next year’s Under-19 World Cup (Under-19 World Cup 2024), announced their team for the tournament. The command of the 15-member squad was handed over to Alex Voloschenko. Gerhard Jans van Rensburg appears as his deputy. The World Cup will be held in South Africa from January 13 to February 4 next year. However, it was earlier to be organized in Sri Lanka but the ICC Board suspended the membership of Sri Lanka Cricket and also shifted the Under-19 World Cup.

A total of 16 teams will participate in the Under-19 World Cup, which will be divided into different groups based on four each. The Namibian team is in Group C, which also includes Australia, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Apart from this, defending champions India have been placed in Group A along with Bangladesh, Ireland and USA. Group B includes South Africa, England, West Indies and Scotland. Group D consists of Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal.

Read Also:  The classic football of Diego Alonso

From the 15 editions of the tournament so far, Namibia has participated 9 times. He first participated in the tournament in 1998, while he was last seen in 2018.

It is noteworthy that Namibia qualified for next year’s tournament by winning the Africa Qualifier. The team won all but their first match of the tournament and remained undefeated. The first match against Uganda was canceled due to rain but after that Namibia played well and did not give chances to the opponents.

Namibia squad for ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024

Alex Wolschenk (captain), Gerhard Jans van Rensburg (vice-captain), Hansie de Villiers, JW Visagie, Ben Brassel, Jack Brassey, Henry van Wyk, Zacko van Vuuren, Nico Pieters, Faf du Plessis, Wouty Neuhaus, PD Blignaut, Hanro Badenhorst, Junior Kariata and Ryan Moffett

Read Also:  The five players Eduardo Berizzo picked at the start of qualifying