Sunday, May 28, 2023

The order of the planets in the solar system and their explanation

Check out the following article to know the names of the planets in the Solar System. Know the order of the planets in the solar system and the explanation of each.

Our solar system consists of the Sun and eight planets. Earlier we knew that there are nine planets in the solar system. However, now the planet Pluto is no longer classified as a planet.

The planets in the Solar System are usually ranked by closest distance from the Sun, namely Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

But if ranked from fastest, the order of rotation of the planets is Jupiter, Saturn, Neptune, Uranus, Earth, Mars, Mercury and Venus.

Each planet in the Solar System is briefly explained by the following: detikEdu And detikJabar,

1. Mercury

It is the smallest planet in the solar system. Mercury’s temperature becomes very high during the day, while it is very cold at night. Mercury makes one complete revolution around the Sun in 88 days.

Mercury has several large craters on its surface that are believed to be the result of meteorite impacts. Mercury is the only planet that has no moon.

2. Venus

The size of Venus is almost like Earth, even humans cannot live on this planet because its atmosphere is full of carbon dioxide which cannot be used for breathing.

Venus is shrouded in clouds of deadly sulfuric acid. Venus rotates in the opposite direction to the other planets. The rotation is also very slow. One day on Venus is equal to 243 days on Earth.

Venus is the closest planet to the Sun. However, Venus ranks last when sorted by rotation period.

3. Earth

Earth is the only planet in the solar system on which living beings live. Life exists because there is liquid water on our planet where two thirds of the surface is covered by water.

Earth is also surrounded by a gas called atmosphere which provides air to breathe and protects us from the impact of meteorites. Earth’s orbital period is 23.9 hours, while its orbital period is 365.25 days.

4. Mars

Mars is called the Red Planet because of the accumulation of dust on its surface. Mars is about half the size of Earth. Mars orbits the Sun in 687 days.

It takes about 24.6 hours for Mars to make one revolution on its axis. Mars has more moons than Earth, which is 2 months.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here