The Pumas defeated Australia and became champions in seven

The Pumas defeated Australia and became champions in seven

The Argentine rugby sevens team defeated the Océanicos 45-12 and won the title for the seventh time in the history of the World Sevens Circuit.

The Argentine rugby sevens team, Los Pumas 7s, defeated Australia this Sunday 45 to 12 (28-0) and became the champion of the Cape Town (South Africa) tournament, the second round of the Men’s Rugby World Series 7 (SVNS), organized by World Rugby (WR).

The Pumas 7s, which recently finished runner-up in Dubai, achieved their first World Cup event. his first title in Cape Town and the seventh for Argentina after consecrations in Los Angeles 2004, San Diego 2009, Vancouver 2022, Hamilton 2023, Vancouver 2023, and London 2023.

Read Also:  The Australian agency fined platform X for failing to combat child abuse content

In addition, with the win and the early elimination of South Africa, the champion in Dubai, they finished the second stage of the first placement in the general table with 38 units.

The process of the game was favorable for Santiago Gómez Cora’s team from the beginning, taking advantage of a warning from Australian captain Nick Malouf to score three consecutive tries and seal a 21-0 run in conversions by Joaquín Pellandini. Germán Schulz, Santiago Mare, and Marcos Moneta led the conquests.

At the end of the first half, Matías Osadczuk scored the fourth try, and Pellandini established a partial score of 28 to 0.

Read Also:  Dell to pay 6 million in Australia for offering false discount

In the second half, Nathan Lawson and Dietrich Roache scored for Australia (28-12), but Osadczuk, Tomás Elizalde, and captain Santiago Álvarez Fourcade scored in the final, 45-12.

The third round of the World Cup will be held between January 26 and 28, 2024, in Perth, Australia.

This new SVNS consists of seven tournaments and a final series where the champion of the season will be determined. The SVNS lasts seven months and consists of 12 selected teams: Argentina, New Zealand, Great Britain, South Africa, the United States, Ireland, Fiji, Samoa, Australia, France, Spain, and Canada.

Those teams will score points in the first seven rounds. After the Singapore Sevens, the best eight will reach the Madrid Grand Final to compete for the season crown, while the other four teams (from 9th to 12th place) will try to stay in their category.

Read Also:  Alex de Minaur takes Australia to Davis Cup final

Those bottom four will play the top four from the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series, and the four best from that repechage will enter the SVNS main draw next year.