Monday, September 25, 2023

These are the countries that have turned their backs on Morocco in the Sahara conflict

Morocco is experiencing a sweet period in foreign policy. Although it has distanced itself from historical allies – which persist, after all – such as France, its closeness to the United States has given it a visible boost in diplomatic and business relations. And, also, in the biggest territorial conflict that remains alive: that of the Western Sahara.

The former US president, Donald Trump, recognized Morocco’s sovereignty over this area in December 2020; It was the first country in the world to do so. Then came the controversial change in the traditional Spanish position, with the same arguments: that the autonomy plan of Morocco, the conqueror, is the most “serious, realistic and reliable” to end the conflict. And even Israel, supported by the Abraham Accords that opened up the Arab world to it, jumped on the bandwagon to support Rabat at this point.

Despite this, not all states in the world are of the same mind, and there are those who support the Sahrawi Democratic Republic (SADR) and describe its aspirations as legitimate and its representatives, the members of the Polisario Front, as legitimate. Since the beginning of the conflict, States have positioned themselves based on their interests, as in other world conflicts.

Many African countries recognize the independence of the SADR, until it is part of the African Union; Needless to say, Morocco left as soon as their opponent’s entry was confirmed. However, among Western countries there is a large division of opinion and, for the most part, they agree with Morocco’s aspirations, although with different degrees and nuances. There are those who directly consider Rabat’s sovereignty good and those who limit themselves to talk about defending Rabat’s interests, but do not commit to the final formula of autonomy or guardianship.

For Morocco, all of the Western Sahara belongs to it and it is considered to be largely part of what it calls the western provinces, referring to the so-called “historical rights.” Although Mauritania also claimed the sovereignty of these territories in the early 70s. In 1976, after Spain left the province after signing the Madrid Tripartite Agreement with Morocco and Mauritania, the Polisario Front (representative of the Saharawi people) proclaimed the creation of the Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic.

Currently, the United Nations does not recognize Morocco’s sovereignty over Western Sahara and continues to consider the area a province in the process of decolonization. That is its official status and the territories occupied by Morocco are considered illegally occupied, in the same way as the territories occupied by Israel in Gaza and the West Bank. In the area there is a ceasefire managed by the UN since 1991 and the United Nations Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara (MINURSO). Spain remains legally an administrative power, moreover.

In total, 83 countries have recognized the SADR: 31 of them have canceled recognition over the years, seven have kept it frozen until a referendum is held (which is what the United Nations plan means for the territory) and the 45 continues to maintain it.

This is the complete list:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Albania
  3. Angola
  4. Old and bearded
  5. Algeria
  6. Barbados
  7. Belize
  8. Benin
  9. pubic hair
  10. Botswana
  11. Burkina Faso
  12. Burundi
  13. Cape Verde
  14. Cambodia
  15. It’s Chad
  16. Colombia
  17. Congo
  18. North Korea
  19. Costa Rica
  20. Cuba
  21. Dominica
  22. Ecuador
  23. The Savior
  24. Ethiopia
  25. Ghana
  26. pomegranate
  27. Guatemala
  28. Guinea-Bissau
  29. Equatorial Guinea
  30. Guyana
  31. Haiti
  32. Honduras
  33. India
  34. Iran
  35. Jamaica
  36. Kenya
  37. Kiribati
  38. overripe
  39. Lesotho
  40. Liberia
  41. Libya
  42. Madagascar
  43. Malawi
  44. Little ones
  45. Mauricio
  46. Mauritania
  47. Mexico
  48. Mozambique
  49. Namibia
  50. Nauru
  51. Nicaragua
  52. Nigeria
  53. South Ossetia
  54. Panama
  55. Papua New Guinea
  56. Paraguay
  57. Peru
  58. Dominican Republic
  59. Rwanda
  60. Solomon Islands
  61. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  62. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  63. San Lucia
  64. Sao Tome and Principe
  65. Seychelles
  66. Sierra Leone
  67. Syria
  68. South Africa
  69. South Sudan
  70. Surinam
  71. Swaziland
  72. Tanzania
  73. East Timor
  74. Togo
  75. Trinidad and Tobago
  76. Tuvalu
  77. Uganda
  78. Uruguay
  79. Vanuatu
  80. Venezuela
  81. Vietnam
  82. Zambia
  83. Zimbabwe
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news