Monday, January 30, 2023

Travis Kelce, Justin Jefferson named unanimous All-Pro

Travis Kelce and Justin Jefferson were unanimous selections to the Associated Press 2022 NFL All-Pro Team, and Saucer Gardner is the first rookie cornerback selected in 41 years.

The Chiefs’ Kelce and the Vikings’ Jefferson received first-team votes Friday from a 50-member national panel of media members who regularly cover the league.

Kansas City quarterback Patrick Mahomes, 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa and Chiefs defensive lineman Chris Jones received 49 of the 50 first-team votes. The Chiefs and Niners each led with four players.

Gardner, taken in the fourth round by the Jets, was named on all 50 ballots, including 43 first-place picks. Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott was the last rookie cornerback to be selected to the first team in 1981.

“It’s a big deal to me,” Gardner told the Associated Press. “It was one of my goals before training camp. It was something I prayed for. I worked hard for it. It’s a real blessing.”

Kells’ older brother, Jason, was also named in the first team for the fifth time in his career. Right tackle Len Johnson, Jason Kelce’s partner on the Eagles, was also inducted.

Raiders running back Josh Jacobs is among 16 players selected to his first All-Pro. While Jefferson, who had a league-high 128 catches and 1,809 passing yards, is a first-time offensive player. Miami’s Tyreek Hill chose fourth, third as catcher. Davante Adams of the Raiders got his third pass.

Cowboys right guard Zach Martin was selected for his sixth All-Pro; Trent Williams and Browns left guard Joel Bitonio were selected by the 49ers for the second time.

Mahomes was also an All-Pro in 2018 when he was the MVP. He led the league with 5–250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns as the Chiefs finished 14–3 and won their seventh straight AFC West title.

Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons, 49ers Fred Wagner and Steelers safety Minka Fitzpatrick returned as All-Pros on defense.

Bosa, Jones, Jets defensive lineman Quinnen Williams, Ravens linebacker Roquan Smith, Bills linebacker Matt Milano, Broncos cornerback Patrick Sartain II and Niners safety Talanoa Hufanga were inducted for the first time.

Six members of the special teams were selected for the first time.

They are: Raiders kicker Daniel Carlson, Chiefs punter Tommy Townsend, Packers kick returner Keisian Nixon, Patriots punt returner Marcus Jones, Commanders special teamer Jeremy Reeves and Vikings long snapper Andrew DePaola.

This is the first year of the new PA voting system. The members select the first and second teams. Votes are worth three points for the first team and one for the second team.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news