Saturday, September 30, 2023

Tribute to heroic rescuers

The Governor of Texas announced that it was an honor to present the Star of Texas Award to 21 heroic first responders and their families.

The Governor Greg Abbott honored police officers, firefighters and first responders who have demonstrated great heroism and sacrifice in the performance of their duties to their communities and the state of Texas at the 2023 Star of Texas Awards in this city.

“Today we mark another anniversary of September 11, 2001, a day that no American will ever forget,” said Governor Abbott. “We will also never forget the brave men and women who ran into danger to help those in need.”

Governor Abbott and First Lady Cecilia Abbott were joined at the Star Of Texas Awards by Texas Chief Justice Nathan Hecht, Texas Supreme Court Justices Jimmy Blacklock and Brett Busby, as well as elected officials, first responders and their families.

The ceremony honored and recognized 21 Texans for their extraordinary courage and sacrifice in the line of duty, including some who gave their lives.

The 2023 Star Of Texas Award winners are:

Houston Police Department officer Anthony Alvarez

Royse Town Police Officer Michael Baley

Brandon M. Barragan, Harris County Sheriff’s Office Deputy

Steven Alton Carnes, a criminal investigator with the Tom Green County District Attorney’s Office

Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Corey Cooke

Brandon Cordell, senior officer with the Corpus Christi Police Department

Nathan Gadson, Houston police officer

Michele García, an officer with the Dallas Police Department

Galveston County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant John C. Hamm

Daniel Hayden, officer with the Houston Police Department

Dallas Police Department Lance Corporal Scott Jay

Major Corporal Jay’s K-9 partner, Figor.

Stephen George Jones, Concho County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant

Corpus Christi Police Officer Gustavo Medina

Nicholas Alexander Montelongo, officer with the Dimmitt Police Department

Rubén Muñoz, Sugar Land police officer

Curtis B. Putz, a police officer with the Department of Public Safety

Loving County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Lorin Readmond

Caleb Daniel Rule, Fort Bend Sheriff’s Office

Thomas Wolf, corporal for the Parker County Sheriff’s Office

Matthew B. Zalewski, officer with the Seagraves Police Department.

Established in 2003 as part of House Bill 1937, the Star of Texas Awards honor and recognize individuals who have demonstrated dedication in the performance of their duties as police officers, firefighters and emergency responders.

They are brave in the face of danger

“We will always be honored by the courage of the emergency responders that day,” the Texas governor said. We are grateful for their courageous service to Texans across our state.

Serving as a first responder means responding to a higher calling. It means putting yourself between danger and the people you serve. It takes extraordinary courage, dedication and commitment to protect those in need.

They represent the best of us. “I thank all the police officers, firefighters and emergency responders here and across Texas today,” said Greg Abbott.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news