Saturday, December 10, 2022

Uncapped Rashmi de Silva, Kaushani Nuthiangana part of SL squad for white-ball series against India

All-rounder Hansima Karunaratne has retained her place in the squad ahead of the Pakistan tour, drafted in as an eleventh-hour replacement for highly-rated batsman Imesha Dulani, 20, who is currently recovering from a prolonged knee injury. has been

De Silva, 20, is understood to have influenced the team management during inter-squad practice games. Meanwhile, Nityangana, veteran Anushka will begin the tour as an understudy to Sanjeevani.

Of the inclusions, Sandipani will provide injury cover while Shehani returns to the national level after a four-year absence; The selectors are believed to have been impressed by his recent performances at the domestic level as well as his renewed focus on fitness. Meanwhile, Kishor Gunaratne, the youngest, makes a comeback at the national level after sitting out of the Pakistan tour. While he is highly regarded for his strokes, the coaching staff is careful not to rush into routine national duty.

It is understood the younger players are a sign of SLC’s concerted effort to lower the average age of their side, which currently includes many players aged 30 and over. Apart from the ones mentioned above, only Harshita Madvi, Hasini Perera and all-rounder Kavisha Dilhari are under 30 years old.

The squad also has several all-rounders; Only Sanjeevani, Madvi, Perera and Nuthyangana are pure batsmen. Captain Chamari Athapaththu, Nilakshi de Silva, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulsuriya, Dilhari, Karunaratne, Gunaratne, Shahani and Sandipani are all capable with both bat and ball.

Meanwhile, the fast bowling department will be headed by Udeshika Prabodhani and Oshadi Ranasinghe, with Sewandi also in the mix. Inoka offers left-arm spin options along with the legspin of Ranveera and Sugandha Kumari de Silva.

Sri Lanka are set to play three T20Is and three ODIs against India, with T20Is to be held in Dambulla on 23, 25 and 27 June, before action in Pallekele for ODIs on July 1, 4 and 7. .

Sri Lanka squad for ODI and T20 against India: Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi D’Silva, Anoushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Sugandhaika Kumari, Inoka Ranviram, Achini Kulsuriya, Harshita Samarawickrama, Vismi Gunaratne, Malasha Shehani, Amchana Karunaratne from Satya Sandipani, Tharika

Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.

Latest News

Related Stories