Friday, June 9, 2023

United States and Canada take over Pan American Badminton

Santo Domingo.- After two weeks of competitions, the 30th Pan American Junior Badminton Championship Santo Domingo 2022 successfully concluded, held at the Parque del Este Table Tennis Pavilion until this Friday under the auspices of the Ministry of Tourism and Sports, the Olympic Committee Dominicano and Metropolitan Office of Bus Service.

Representatives from Canada and the United States captured medals from the competition played in the sub-13, sub-15, sub-17, sub-19 and team categories, with over 350 athletes from 17 countries participating.

During the individual tournament organized by the Dominican Badminton Federation (Fedobad), in coordination with the Pan American Confederation of that sport, the Americans won 11 gold medals, while the Canadians received 9.

Pan American Badminton Confederation President Vishu Tolan congratulated all the medal winners and urged them to continue competing to enhance their experience.

“These athletes represent the future of Pan American Badminton. I hope they continue to achieve success and get medals at the levels that come to them”, said Tolan, who was recognized by Fedobad.

On his behalf, Gennaroso Castillo, Secretary General of Fedobad and Santo Domingo 2022, thanked the presence of all the athletes who came to the Dominican Republic to compete in the youth fair that began on 14 July.

The closing ceremony was attended by the President of the Dominican Olympic Committee, Mr. Antonio Acosta Corletto as well as Gonzalo Castillo, the Vice President of the Pan American Badminton Confederation of South America.

During their stay in the Dominican Republic, the athletes, all housed in hotels in the colonial area, enjoyed a special event organized by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture in the historic center of the city.

Claro, Gatorade and Bepensa collaborated with their own brands Coca Cola and Agua Dasani in the competition.

The 30th Pan American Junior Badminton Championships was broadcast on Olympic Channel Colimdo 88 TV and through the platforms, and



Canada’s Josh Nguyen won the gold medal at the tournament’s highest level by defeating his compatriot Victor Lai (21-13, 21-13), who was a wide favorite in the category.

In the Canadian Players Duel, Jackie Dent defeated Chloe Hoang (21–14, 21–12).

In men’s doubles, the American pair of Aaron Bai and Ryan Ma defeated their country’s Andre Chim and Andrew Yuan (22-20, 13-21, 21-15).

Canadian girls’ dumbbells made up of Jessica Cheng and Nong Sophia defeated United States representatives Chloe Ho and Ella Lee (13-21, 21-18, 21-7).

Canada’s Josh Nguyen and Chloe Hoang won the gold medal in mixed doubles (22-20, 17-21, 7-4 retirement) by defeating Americans Henry Tang and Cody Tang.


Canada’s Kevin Wang and Michael Gee contested for gold, with Wang winning 21-18, 23-21.

The women’s final was won by Mia Zhang (21-18, 21-11) over compatriot Mikayla Henares.

The boys’ doubles went to Gringos Kai Chong and Linden Wang, who went out victorious (24-22, 21-16) against Canada’s Michael Gee and Reyes Su.

Mia Hundley and Emma Wei (21-7, 21-14), outscored fellow Americans Annie Meng and Maggie Yifan.

Mixed Kyle Wang and Ella Lin prevailed over Lyndon Wang and Emily Liu (21-14, 21-17).


In the Canadian fight, Oliver Chen defeated Shaurya Gualaiah (21–18, 21–17), while in the American fight, Nicole Kravczyk defeated Micah Henares (21–19, 21–16).

In the men’s pairings, Chen and Ricky Tao took first place, winning victorious (26–24, 21–8) against Lance Lee and Kevin Yang. In women’s Angela Ye and Jasmine Yung came out lucky (21-14, 21-11) against Chan He and Jessica Wu.

In mixed, Won Zhao and Yung won (21-17, 21-16) over Shriyans Bhagwatula and Sahana Chada.


The boys’ final was won by Vicente Chen, who defeated Michal Zubin (21-15, 21-9). Meanwhile, Annie Meng (21-9, 21-14) dismissed Kimaya Krishna.

Mixed combination of Michael Zubin and Rosie Yin prevailed over Srinivas Subhash and Clarinda Jin (21-14, 21-17).

In the men’s doubles, Vicente Chen and Arya Vijay defeated Gavin Ley and Ethan Wu (16-21, 21-14, 21-16). The women were won by Susanna Wang and Fulgancia Simmons (21–15, 21–15) defeating Annie Meng and Maggie Yifan.

Nation World News Desk
Nation World News Desk
Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here