Sunday, November 27, 2022

Verlander and Alcantara win Cy Young unanimously

HOUSTON ( Associated Press) – Justin Verlander of the American League Houston and Sandy Alcantara of the National League Miami were the unanimous Cy Young winners on Wednesday.

It is the second time that the winners of both leagues have been voted on unanimously since the award’s inception in 1956, and the first time since Denny McLain of Detroit in the AL and Bob Gibson of St. Louis in the NL in 1968.

Verlander, who won the MVP in 2011 and also won the Cy Young Award in 2019, became the 11th player to win three times. He was also unanimously elected in 2011.

The 39-year-old led the majors with a 1.75 ERA — his lowest in 17 seasons — after nearly missing the previous two seasons with Tommy John surgery. He is the fourth AL pitcher to earn two unanimous wins, joining Roger Clemens (1986, 1998), Pedro Martínez (1999, 2000) and Johan Santana (2004, 2006).

Read Also:  Steinbrenner expects Boone to stay on as Yankees manager

Verlander led the Astros to the best record in the American League, and while not counted towards the postseason award, got his first World Series win in Game 5. Houston ended the series against Philadelphia in six games.

Alcantara finished the season with a 2.28 ERA, pitching for a major league-high 228 2/3 innings and six complete games. It is the first time that the 27-year-old Dominican has been named a Cy Young and is also the first Marlins player to receive the honor.

Alcantara received 30 first place appearances, the 15th time the National League had a unanimous winner. Atlanta’s Max Fried was second with 72 points, including 10 second-place votes. Los Angeles Dodgers Mexican lefty Julio Urías was third with 66 points and seven second-place votes.

Read Also:  My Favorite SEO Keyword Tools

Trailing Verlander was Dylan Clash of the White Sox with 97 points and 144 second-place votes and Alec Manoh of Toronto with 87 points and seven second-place votes.

Verlander led the American League with 18 wins and 187 runs batted in for his career 3,189 and fifth among active pitchers.

Alcantara’s six complete games were the most since Chris Sale’s six in 2016. Longest streak since 2014.

His runs scored and wins were career highs for Alcantara and his highest ERA in six MLB seasons to finish second in the National League.

He joined Pedro Martínez (1997) as the only players born in the Dominican Republic to win the award in the National League. Martínez took it twice in the American League (1999, 2000) and in 2005 the second Dominican winner in the AL was Bartolo Colón.

Nation World News is the fastest emerging news website covering all the latest news, world’s top stories, science news entertainment sports cricket’s latest discoveries, new technology gadgets, politics news, and more.

Latest News

Related Stories

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your comment!